Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

AJE Reveal


Every month, Art Jewelry Elements gives away three or four components made by one of their members.  If you are lucky enough to win, you join in the fun as a guest and make a piece with your component.  I was lucky in December and won these great beaded rings from Kristen Stevens studio.  they are made of little seed beads and teenie weenie little beads that are iridescent.  My gosh, I don’t know how she does it! Well, it got to be the second week in January and I still hadn’t received my component so I emailed AJE.  Some glitch in the mail I guess with the holiday season and all.  Anyhow, long story short, I ended up with 2 sets.  So I made 2 different things. For this first piece, I only used one of the rings.  I’m saving the other for a piece that is exactly like it.  when I saw these little brassy colored rings, I thought way back in time to riding a carousel horse.  Who was daring enough to reach all the way out and grab “the brass ring?” Remember the thrill.        stretching all the way out……… carousel My grand daughter, Kelsey, is turning 18 next month and she will graduate in June.  These are steps into the adult world.   I made this necklace with one of Kristen’s rings and one of my own bronze heart charms that says DARE.   I wish, for Kelsey, that she will always be brave enough to reach out and grab that brass ring and follow her dreams all of her life.   The copper chain has a pinkish color and so do those teenie weenie little beads on the ring so I put a hint of pink on the bronze heart.  (It’s Kelsey’s favorite color).  You can’t really see it in these shots though.  My camera batteries were low and somehow, it makes the pictures darker. 039 I wanted a close-up of those little rings to show how beautiful they are. 040   The other set, I made these earrings with copper filigree and “black” glass pearls from Swarovski.  I’m keeping them for myself, LOL. 027   Hop around and see what everyone else made.   It will be fun!

AJE team:

Kristen Stephens

Susan Kennedy

Jenny Davies-Reazor

Lesley Watt

Melissa Meman

Lindsay Starr

Jennifer Cameron

Caroline Dewison

Linda Landig

Guest Participants ( aka winners)

Lee – Strega Jewellry

Shai – Shai’s Ramblings

Samantha- Wescott Jewelry

Kathy – Bay Moon Designs

Nikki – Silver Nik nats

Melissa Trudinger

Becky Pancake

Yvette – Blue Kiln Beads

Karin – Ginko et Coquelicot

Bonus participants!

Sarajo Wentling

Leah Curtis

Susan Delaney

Karen Z

Christine Walker

January 31, 2015 - Posted by | challenges, fashion, Jewelry | , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. Beautiful makes I joined in too 😀 Christine http://christinesjewellerybox.blogspot.co.uk/2015/01/aje-challenge-reveal.html

    Like

    Comment by Christine | January 31, 2015 | Reply

  2. I love seeing what people come up with for Kristen’s rings…they are so fun to play with! Great job, and thanks for playing!

    Like

    Comment by Lindsay S | January 31, 2015 | Reply

  3. What lovely pieces, and I love the story behind the necklace, such a wonderful piece!

    Like

    Comment by niky sayers | January 31, 2015 | Reply

  4. Looks like you had a similar experience to me with a long anxious wait for the arrival of a parcel! Lovely pieces, especially like what you did with the necklace.

    Like

    Comment by Yvette | January 31, 2015 | Reply

  5. Beautiful pieces and I love the meaning behind them!

    Like

    Comment by blueberribeads | January 31, 2015 | Reply

  6. Aren’t those rings great? I was lucky enough to work with them during an earlier hop. I just love those earrings! I just love dangles so I can fiddle with them.

    Like

    Comment by Shaiha Williams | January 31, 2015 | Reply

  7. You SO captured “grabbing the brass ring” in your necklace. I remember grabbing the ring on a carousel that Mother had ridden as a girl. Now my daughter and I ride it together whenever we are “home”.

    The earrings are lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by susandolphindelaney | January 31, 2015 | Reply

  8. Beautiful! I love the design and sentiment behind the necklace for your granddaughter. And then a little something pretty for yourself!! 🙂

    Like

    Comment by beadlove | February 1, 2015 | Reply

  9. Absolutely positively awesome!

    Like

    Comment by kristen | February 1, 2015 | Reply

  10. I really adore the first piece…the aesthetic is wonderful, but I love the thought behind it. Your granddaughter will love it! The earrings are very elegant. Thanks so much for participating in the design challenge this month!

    Like

    Comment by Jennifer Cameron | February 1, 2015 | Reply

  11. You had me at carousel horse! I love the story, the intention behind the piece for your grand daughter. And so nicely designed – she can wear it with everything if she chooses! Love the bead in the center of the black beaded rings – great idea!

    Like

    Comment by Jenny | February 1, 2015 | Reply

  12. Your designs are lovely and you have made a gift your granddaughter will always cherish. The metal “Dare” heart is so cool! Both pieces are great.

    Like

    Comment by Linda Landig | February 2, 2015 | Reply

  13. Beautiful work Lee – just love those earrings.

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Lesley Watt | February 4, 2015 | Reply

  14. Love earrings and Necklace both are lovely

    Like

    Comment by gloria allen | February 5, 2015 | Reply

  15. […] Cameron  Caroline Dewison Linda Landig Guest Participants ( aka winners) Lee – Strega Jewellry Shai – Shai’s Ramblings Samantha- Wescott Jewelry Kathy – Bay Moon Designs Nikki […]

    Like

    Pingback by The January Component of the Month reveal! AKA “Use your stash!” – Art Elements | July 5, 2016 | Reply


Leave a comment