Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

White Party


I’ve completed a new collection of jewelry and I’m calling it the White Party Collection.   It all started when my daughter gave me a crazy pair of white wide legged pants with black designs and I realized I had no beads to wear with them.   I bought a pound of white beads from Jesse James Beads and then had more white beads than I knew what to do with.  It was like a white party in a bag.   I started making and couldn’t stop.

whitpartie

I’m going to digress here because some of you may never have heard of a white party.  What IS it, you ask?

Keep in mind that, of all the colors, white was an elitist color back in the days before washing machines and Clorox bleach.    If you could afford to wear white, it was like saying you could afford to toss your clothes away after wearing them once or twice.   The very first white party was held in France over 60 years ago.   The idea spread across Europe and then to the States.   Want to read more about the origin?  Click here. 

whitep4

These days White Party is a trademark.   White parties are thrown to support various causes and are often much attended by the rich and famous. The LGBT groups adopted the idea so much that in Miami there is a whole week devoted to white parties to raise money for HIV.   Even the drag queens embraced the idea with their own flamboyancy and go all out with white eye shadow and nails.

Even so, the white party is now a part of all walks of life.  Anyone can be .invited to a white party.   White parties are usually about style, gettin’ your “swag” on.   Their venues can range from the poolside party or backyard barbeque to a garden party to a formal ballroom party.

whitep5

So, what do you wear to a white party?      Obviously, that will depend on the venue.  Some back yard barbeques require only white tee shirts.

whitep7

 

Some parties go all out and even the men wear all white suits and look mighty fine.   You wear all white of course, but a bit of color is allowed.   A tiny hint of black, or red is especially classy, though now and then pastels shoes or scarves will show up.

Enough digression.   Let’s get back to jewelry.   I have come up with simple designs for the minimalist and fancier ones for those who like to make a statement.   I’ve got 3 different lines, White and Gold, White and Silver and White and Black.   Tell me what you think.

White and Gold

wphrt2wpball2 (1)wptulip1wpbangle2wpbeadbrac1wpchainbrac1wpbowearz2wptearearz2

White and Silver

wpbigneck3

wpjjpendsil1


 

wpjjtrisil2

wpballzwidangl

wprosependsil2

wptassl2

wptrdrp2

OMG,  I do not have room for my black and white designs here but you can see all of them in the White Party album on my Strega Jewellry Facebook page.  Or you can check out my Etsy shop, Studio L and look in the White Party Section.

 

 

December 7, 2018 - Posted by | fashion, Jewelry | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment