Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Wheel of the Year: Imbolg


 

imbolc

February 2nd, Imbolg or Candlemas as it is sometimes called is a time of quickening.   Beneath the frozen ground, the seeds and roots of returning plants begin to stir.   They have slept through the “dark time” of the year but now begin to awaken as the first signs of the coming spring appear.  Snows melt, the rains begin and the very top of the ground becomes a muddy mess.   Birds and geese begin to return.  The yowling of cats at night marks the start of mating season.  Last night, I knew for sure that spring was on the way.  I smelled a little skunk, roused from his winter sleep.  Did you know that the males spray when they are sexually excited?   Yep.   It’s officially the mating season when you smell your first skunk of the year.

The sap begins to stir in the trees.  One of my favorite memories of this time of year when I was a girl was of my uncle making maple syrup.    He would tap the maple trees.

maple

We would ride the tractor and trailer with him the gather the sap from the trees.  We took mason jars and drank it cold from the buckets.   It tasted like sweet water.   At night, the saphouse was a haven of warmth from the fires and the smell of cooking syrup.   I found a video on YouTube if you are interested in the process.   It is an art to make really good maple syrup.

 

One of my favorite treats from this time of year was Jack Wax.  To make it, your pour the fresh syrup, boiling hot, on the last of the winter snow.  We had to go up on the mountain to find clean snow left deep in the woods. My aunt would pack the snow in dishes and we eagerly awaited the time when they syrup was just right to pour into our pans of snow.     The syrup does not totally harden to candy but becomes a soft ball of “wax” and eating it is sheer delight.   We would eat and eat.  I found a recipe for jack wax here at Mother Earth News.  

As the Earth begins to quicken in anticipation of Spring, so do our bodies and spirits.   Seed and flower catalogues arrive in the mail.  I pour over them eagerly and plan what I will plant.   I found a great website for ordering herbs and seeds this year.  Sand Mountain Herbs.   If you love unusual seeds, heirlooms seeds and herbs, check out Larry’s website.   I ordered seeds from him and he takes such care to package each group of seeds.  All instructions are written on the outside of the package, sometimes even handwritten.   He has put a lot of love into his site.   There is advice for when to plant and what different herbs are used for.   His prices are so reasonable you will want to buy a lot!

It is still the dark time of the year however and there is still “work” do be done as we go within ourselves and prepare for our own transitions.   This year, I have had a lot to think about.  After my cataract surgery, I can see perfect 20/20 at a distance, something I have not been able to do since 5th grade!  It’s amazing!  BUT, my close up vision, because of the implants, is terrible.   With simple reading glasses, I  can read and knit very well BUT, my jewelry making is very difficult.   I talked to one of my old instructors about it and she said experiment with creating by touch.  There are blind artists you know.   I fought this for a few days then decided to try it out.   I played with my polymer clay and found that I can do this without so much trouble as working with wire.   This may be the path I must take up at this time.

I have a blogger friend, Nan who does these amazing oracle readings with Goddess amulets.   We had talked, at Samhain, about an idea I had to make small Goddesses to go with her readings.   Initially, I had thought to use polymer clay and stamp designs onto it.   As I experimented with my “touch” method, I realized that my tiny figures would be small “sculptures”.   I want them to look primitive.   I played with colors, the colors of the goddess aspects themselves.   This week, I finished my prototypes.   I made them into beads at first but I think they do not want to be beads, they want to be tiny sculptures to be held in the hand.   I didn’t like the colors.  I found I liked the ones I made that looked like stone.   I have some photos here.  They are terrible of course because the sun refused to come out and  help me. The colors look too dark. Tell me what you think.   Don’t you like the stone goddesses better than the colored ones?   Well, except for the River Goddess.   I think she wants to be mostly blue.   Anyhow, this transition was not easy for me.   I spent 2 months when I could not see at all until my eyes were both done and I could see with 2 eyes then another few weeks fighting to “see” and not “feel”.   I am ready to make my 2nd batch now and have confidence that they will turn out much better.

If you are wondering about your own life and transitions, take a look at Nan’s blog and consider getting a reading for yourself with the Goddess Oracle Amulets.

Here are my awful photos of my prototypes of the amulets.

gddssdance

gddssgorgon.jpggddssinanagddssnilegddssprimalgddsssheela

gddsssleep

 

gddsswillendorf

February 5, 2016 - Posted by | holidays, Jewelry, metaphysical, pagan, wiccan | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Gorgeous. Magical.
    I get shivers just seeing the images. To hold them would be even more awe-inspiring.

    Like

    Comment by NanLT | February 5, 2016 | Reply

    • Nan, this pleases me greatly! When I have finished the set properly, I will gift a set to you so you can hold them and absorb their energy. I want to be sure that they are “right” for what you are doing. I am struggling with that one final goddess image but last night, when I went to sleep, I put in my mind that I wanted a more fitting token and today, I think I have it. Still need to make the prototype. The one I made was not included because I did not feel the magic from it as I did these. I’ve decided to make some as beads, with a loop so they can be attached to a necklace, cord or a bracelet and some as just talismans that can be carried in a pocket or placed in a work space or on a bedside table or wherever. When I have finished the “real ones”, I will contact you for a mailing address so I can send them.

      Liked by 1 person

      Comment by stregajewellry | February 5, 2016 | Reply

  2. They are wonderful. I do agree that the River Goddess should be blue and I do like the stone colors better. I keep going back up to the Gorgon, she is amazing.

    I have a lot of issues seeing close up as well, my glasses are a -10 and -11. I found craft optics telescope lenses last fall and I can bead with seed beads again without a problem. I don’t work for them or get any incentives – just wanted to mention them since they helped me so much and I know what it’s like to not see well enough to do what you love to.

    Like

    Comment by Kim | February 9, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply

