Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

1st Annual Danse Macabre Blog Hop


I am so excited to present the first ever (hosted by me) Danse Macabre Blog Hop.

danse3

Danse Macabre, in case you missed the post about this, is the Dance of Death, the dance we all must make through life on our way to the grave for we all must come to the same end, rich man, poor man, bagger man, thief, priest and pope.  It’s the same end for everyone.  What we do with our lives is more important than what we have or acquire so we should all celebrate life by laughing at death and the fears of “things that go bump in the night”.   Our challenge was to take either a generic term for something macabre, like vampire or ghost or to choose a specific character from television, books or movies and design something for them.   It did not have to be jewelry.  It could be any type of craft.   I had such a talented group of ladies sign up, I cannot wait to see what they all made!

Those of you who know me also know that our whole family is known locally as “The Addams Family”.   We all love Halloween, the spooky, the scary and the weird and wonderful.   I chose my designs for the television Adams Family for whom we are named.

I made this huge sugar skull for my “coffin book case” that my son built for me.   It’s some definite Addams décor.

danseskull

Here is my “pet bird” in his cage.  You can see his tiny skeleton toy and if you look close, there is a tiny ceramic cattle skull in his nest.  I just painted his cage black.  He does not sing much, but I suppose that could be a good thing.   Maybe Morticia can teach him some French.

dansebird

Now for some jewelry.  Morticia Adams is such a classy lady, I designed her this lacy cuff bracelet.

morticiacuff

I also made her some “beerings” with Day of the Dead beer caps and a matching key fob for Gomez.

Dodbeerings2

dodkeyfog

I made Lurch a key fob with a Hobgoblin beer cap.  It sort of looks like Lurch!

paulapic

This bat gargoyle moon necklace has brass stampings and filigree

gargoylemoon1

A pair of bat wing earrings for Morticia’s other black dress

batearz

and, maybe my favorite thing……….this “mummy’s mirror” necklace with such a weird cabochon and brass filigree

mummy3

Yes, I went crazy loco.   I made lots more stuff but will put that on my Facebook page.  For now, I hope you will go visit my friends and see what dances they are doing.

Lee Koopman                           Strega Jewellry

Sam Waghorn                           Pale Moon Creations

Dini Bruinsma                            Angaza by Changes

Mowse Doyle                              Mouse Made This

Robin Showstack                        The Crazy Bead Hoarder

Amy Jorgensen                           Hoarders Corner

Nan Smith                                    Wired Nan

Tammy Adams                             Paisley Lizard

Catherine King                              Catherine’s Musings

Michelle McCarthy                         Firefly Designs Studio

Betony Maiden                             Beadwenches Blog

Becca White                                  Morgana Fey Creations

Kim Dworak                                   Cianci Blue

Tami Norris                                   Tamis Creative Spot

Inge Von Roos                               Inge’s Blog

Terry Jeanette Carter                    Tapping Flamingo

Deb Fortin                                       Mhoti Studio

Melissa Trudinger                           Bead Recipes

October 15, 2015 - Posted by | challenges, Jewelry | , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. […] to my reveal for the Danse Macabre Blog Hop.  Our hostess, Lee Koopman, challenged us to create jewelry, or decorations or other […]

    Like

    Pingback by Danse Macabre Blog Hop - Paisley Lizard | October 17, 2015 | Reply

  2. Thanks for hostessing this great theme, Lee. Your jewelry and crafts are great. I especially adore those beerrings. And that gargoyle necklace. And the lacy cuff. Fabulous stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Tammy Adams | October 17, 2015 | Reply

    • thanks Tammy! I am so glad you danced along with me!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | October 17, 2015 | Reply

  3. Thank you so much for hosting this fun blog hop. You are most creative. I enjoyed your pieces and reading about them.

    Like

    Comment by ingetraud | October 17, 2015 | Reply

  4. What great designs! I like them all and am in love with the cab in your Zombies Mirror

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Shai Williams | October 17, 2015 | Reply

    • LOL, I fell in love with that cab a long time ago. Had it laying around for 2 years before I could get inspired!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | October 18, 2015 | Reply

  5. ugh! I missed the reveal! I am soooo sorry!!!! And I am one of the ones that is suppose to have something posted. Not sure what happened, as my computer has been sick, then in the hospital. But that is NO excuse. I have something that I made, and first thing when I get home from church tomorrow, I will be posting my reveal. I am so sorry…! By the way. Love your stuff. I really like those bat wing earrings. They would actually go with my piece that I will reveal tomorrow.

    Like

    Comment by Terry Jeanette | October 18, 2015 | Reply

  6. […] go to Strega Jewellry for a list of participants in this blog hop and do visit their […]

    Like

    Pingback by Danse Macabre Blog Hop | Inge's Blog | October 18, 2015 | Reply

  7. Firstly a huge thank you for hosting this hop. What can i say but wow so many wonderful pieces! i adore your birdcage, the lacy cuff is fabulous and i love the bottle cap jewellery which i may have to try soon too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by sam w | October 18, 2015 | Reply

    • Sam, I love making the bottle cap things, especially the key fobs. My grandson belongs to a group called Beer Geeks and they try different kinds of beer from all over the country. I made him one in his favorite beer.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | October 20, 2015 | Reply

  8. […] couple of days ago was the reveal date for Lee Koopman’s Danse Macabre Blog Hop. Sadly I’m late for it, but better late than never I guess. My sincere apologies to […]

    Like

    Pingback by Danse Macabre Blog Hop | beadrecipes | October 19, 2015 | Reply

  9. Great stuff, Lee! I really like the bird cage and the key fobs! Thanks for having this hop, it was fun to branch out and try something new.

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by amemedesigns | October 19, 2015 | Reply

  10. I love the sugar skull you made! And all of the jewelry is awesome. Thanks for hosting such a great hop.

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Kim | October 19, 2015 | Reply

  11. So much diversity in your designs, and so phantasy full, I ♥ that! Thanx for hosting the blog Lee (-:

    Like

    Comment by Dini Bruinsma | October 20, 2015 | Reply

  12. I love those BSue turtles to make earrings with. Your cuff is fun. Hope you are feeling better.

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by windbent | October 25, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

