Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Join the dance!


Lying around all summer, laid up with back problems and suffocating in the heat and humidity in Ohio, I have not posted in months.   I have spent most of the summer reading books and living in some far off world and not creating much of anything.   I’m kicking myself and trying to get back in the dance.   To do so, I believe I’m going to host a blog hop.   It’s something I wanted to do before but had no idea how to accomplish such a thing.   I chose the month of October for this hop to happen and I chose a theme that goes hand in hand with Samhain, or Halloween as you may call it.   My hop is going to be called Danse Macabre.

Oh, right, it’s French, you say, what the heck is that.   Literally, it means the dance of death and the phrase was coined in Medieval times when artistic types used allegories most of the time.   Danse Macabre illustrates the universal aspect of death.   It comes to all, regardless of station in life.  Paintings were created with skeletons dancing their way to the grave, sermons were preached cautioning people that the material side of life was unimportant, death is a fate we must all meet, peasant, pauper, priest, pope or noble.  So, enjoy life, make the most of it for we are all on our way to the same fate.   Life, after all, is a glorious dance with the grave as the finale, dance through it with joy!

dansemedieval

1493 medieval painting

dansemaodern

from the Creative Life of Bob Sparks on blogspot

It’s also a brilliant classical music composition for violin and piano.   I’m sharing here a modern dance version

Now you want to know what is this blog hop about?   Please, no medieval stuff you say.   Nope.  and we are not going to get morbid either.   We are going to join the dance.  We’re going to have a party.

The challenge?   Pick a spooky or scary or creepy representation from a Halloween type character as your inspiration.   It can be really scary or it can be generic, like “a witch”.  It can be cute, like Mavis, Dracula’s daughter  from Hotel Transylvania.  It can be a zombie or a mummy. It can be Elvira, that Queen of the Night or your favorite vampire.   Make something.  It does not have to be jewelry.   It can be decorations or some other type of craft.  It can be a costume.   Make it, show it off and tell us about it.  How will you celebrate at our dance?

Sign up by commenting on this blog.   Tell me you are IN and leave your name and blog address.  You might want to leave your email address also, especially if you are not in the Bead Peeps Group so I can email you and remind you of the date.    And while you are here, choose one of these pictures for our blog badge.    I simply cannot decide.

one    Please do not sigh up if you do not have an active blog!   I will check links.

Signups are open until August 25th.   On the 31st of August, I’ll have a list of participants here on the blog.  You can copy and paste for your own blog.   And, I will have chosen the official badge for the hop with a link.  

danse1

two

danse2

or three?

danse3

come on now, you know it’s going to be fun!

August 13, 2015 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

28 Comments »

  1. Count me IN. I too have been having back issues. And now that the surgery is healing nicely it is time to DANCE !

    Like

    Comment by Mowse Doyle | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  2. LOL was so excited I forgot to leave the info you need ! Mowse Doyle at http://mowsemadethis.blogspot.com/

    Like

    Comment by Mowse Doyle | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  3. I’m in, option three!

    Like

    Comment by alainnjewelry | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  4. I’m in! I will check everything over tomorrow!

    Like

    Comment by Robin Showstack | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  5. I’ve been neglecting my blog all summer – I’m in too. Number 3 is the one I like.

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by amemedesigns | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  6. I’m in. I really like option 3. wirednan.blogspot.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by wirednan | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  7. Count me in! Great theme. All three badges are cute. Can’t wait to see which you choose.

    Like

    Comment by Tammy Adams | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  8. I’m in, love the theme! The third badge is my favorite. kdworak69@hotmail.com http://www.cianciblue.blogspot.com

    Like

    Comment by Kim | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  9. Count me in too. Love the badges All of them. http://morganafeycreations.121hub.com/#sec-blog

    Like

    Comment by Rebecca White | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  10. Count me in! I’ll post on the fb page too.

    Like

    Comment by Terry Jeanette Carter | August 13, 2015 | Reply

  11. Count me in too! Love the badges but # 3 is just perfect. Catherine2447@aol.com – Catherines-musings.blogspot.com

    Like

    Comment by Catherines-musings.blogspot.com | August 14, 2015 | Reply

  12. I’m IN…..

    my email is a_fair_maiden_jewelry@yahoo.Com

    Blog is beadwenches.blogspot.com

    Like

    Comment by Betony Maiden | August 16, 2015 | Reply

  13. Love it! info@potterybeads.com and blog is http://www.fireflydesignstudio.blogspot.com

    Like

    Comment by Michelle McCarthy | August 16, 2015 | Reply

  14. I would love to participate (-; Badge nr. 2 is my favourite…

    angazabychanges@gmail.com / http://www.angazabychanges.blogspot.nl/

    Like

    Comment by Dini Bruinsma | August 16, 2015 | Reply

  15. I would love to join in with such a rest hop, love the theme and need the motivation! http://palemooncreation.blogspot.co.uk
    I love the third button.x

    Like

    Comment by sam w | August 21, 2015 | Reply

  16. I am so in on this here’s my blog located at.
    http://Www.tamiscreativespot.com

    Like

    Comment by TAMI NORRIS | August 26, 2015 | Reply

  17. Ive had so much going on, I can’t remember if I signed up for this. I would love to join in! My blog site is tappingflamingo.blogspot.com

    Like

    Comment by tappingflamingo | August 29, 2015 | Reply

    • Give me your name so I can add you to the list. Want to get it up tomorrow

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | August 30, 2015 | Reply

  18. I’m in. I’m glad you extended it until today. ingetraud.wordpress.com

    Like

    Comment by ingetraud | August 30, 2015 | Reply

  19. rats I just saw this post on Facebook . I have missed the sign up date but if you have room for one more i’d love to join in
    deb4tin@gmail.com
    mhotistudio.blogspot.ca

    Like

    Comment by Deb Fortin | August 30, 2015 | Reply

    • Deb, I am adding you to the list. I had one other lady so …….why not?

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | September 11, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

