Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

The Muffin Tin Project


036

Well, here is another fine mess I have gotten into.  Heather Powers of Humblebeads challenged us to fill a muffin tin with all the “fixin’s” to make 12 projects and complete them before January 4rh.   This, with Christmas and New Year’s in the mix!   I was in a slump and not doing much of anything creative so I thought this might get me jump started.

Here is my muffin tin.  We are supposed to have all our beads and findings in one tin but my cups runneth over as you can see.  I do a lot of wire work and trying to get the wire into the cups was impossible.

My first 3 projects were wire pendants with some very cool crazy lace agate.   I sell a lot of pendants that never make it into the store and I needed these to show to one of my customers.

075

 

My daughter got me a tutorial for this Aegean cuff bracelet.   It’s made from copper wire and I’m fairly happy with it except that the next one I make will use some square wire also.   Using all round wire is not good as it tends to roll around too much and it does not lie close enough together to suit me.    I’m definitely keeping this for myself because I really love copper and I do love this pattern.

083
This little bracelet is also copper wire.  There is a butterfly charm on the other side BUT that picture was too blurry so you will have to just imagine it.  It’s pouring rain again and there is no way I can get another shot today.

085
This one I call Beach Front Property.   I used some sari silk ribbon and some large chips of pretty agate and one of Heather’s beach house charms.   I made the links of silver wire.  The pattern for them is in Cindy Wimmer’s book, Missing Link.    They sort of look like shells to me.    It reminds me of waves along the ocean sand with the colors of the agate chips in pale blue, brown and creamy beige.

102

 

I had this little starfish charm from Bead Freaky that I was also going to put on that bracelet but it  sort of drowned out the beach house charm so I took that starfish charm and more of the agates and made this necklace with more sari ribbon.  It makes a fairly good set I think.   Beachy and boho.

046

 

I wanted to use some of my new copper sheet wire (Merry Christmas to me) which you can see in those bottom cups.   I made this earring and necklace set which is sort of a noir/Goth look.  I love this patina from Lillypilly.  My links are hand made from brass wire.  I do want to darken the links a bit.   The gold in the copper sheet is more of an antique gold.   The lampwork heart is from Covergirl Beads Artfire Studio.

038

 

The other copper sheet looked like a desert to me.   I have a sweater and a hat a made for myself in camo colors and no jewelry to go with it.  I’ve got 2 bangles now, earrings and a dog tag necklace to wear with my camo clothes.   Woot woot!  I’m on a roll!

073

 

I saw an earring tutorial  (on Earrings Everyday I think.)   I wanted to try it out but make something different using the colors from my 7th Heaven blog hop that’s coming up.   They came out just fine with sari silk, silver bead caps and purple beads.   Oops…….I can’t use the 7th Heaven earrings.    So I made an extra pair in spring green (I think all this rain and no snow has me thinking of spring).

014
Love this octopus from Bead Freaky but dark blue is not my color as a rule.   I think he came out fine.   I used silver snake chain, sari silk ribbon, blue freshwater pearls and tiny Swarovski cube beads.

088

 

I made this Namaste focal for a friend then ended up giving her a different piece.  Been wanting to do something with it.  It’s made of Bronz Clay.  I put it together with sari silk, cord, agate chips and wire.  It’s sort of a Boho look.

055

I have one more necklace in the tin using one of my Bronz Clay focals but I’m going to reveal it in my 7th Heaven Challenge in a couple of days so here’s a blur…..

122

When I finally finished all my projects, I was ready to celebrate but I had all this sari ribbon laying around so I cut some steel bangles and made some sari ribbon bangles.  Not original but love the colors.  Do I get extra points?   LOL

103

Want to see what the rest of the ladies made?  Hop on over to Heather’s blog and check them all out!

January 4, 2015 - Posted by | challenges, fashion, Jewelry | , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. I really like your style. Fabulous job with all your pieces! Such a fun challenge.

    Like

    Comment by Terri G. | January 5, 2015 | Reply

  2. Looks like you had a great time playing with the contents of all your muffin cups! I had to giggle at your jewelry set to go with your cammo clothing. That sounds like something I would do since I like to say that I have a matching disorder. Great job!

    Like

    Comment by Sarajo Wentling | January 5, 2015 | Reply

    • A matching disorder! I love it! I have it! I’ll use it! LOL

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | January 5, 2015 | Reply

  3. Wow. You really went to town with those. They are all stunning. I think beach front property fascinates me the most, texture-wise, both visually and tactile-y.

    Like

    Comment by susandolphindelaney | January 5, 2015 | Reply

    • I think I am the happiest with that one also. I can visualize so easily with it.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | January 5, 2015 | Reply

  4. Gorgeous pieces! My favorite is the Beach Front Property with the lovely watery colors.

    Like

    Comment by Alice | January 5, 2015 | Reply

  5. Your designs are very unique – love that! I have designed with Heathers beach house before – it’s a great charm, and a great accent to your bracelet.

    Like

    Comment by Michelle McCarthy | January 5, 2015 | Reply

    • I love that this challenge motivated me to use that cute little charm. I’ve had it for a while and wasn’t sure how to use it. It’s tiny but so charming and I didn’t want to hide it. this bracelet gives it a place all of its own.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | January 5, 2015 | Reply

  6. Oh you were on a bracelet roll! Of course I love the beach house one. 😉 the copper ones are gorgeous too but that stack of colorful silk bangles really are stunning! You may want to check my blog post from today.

    Like

    Comment by Heather Powers | January 6, 2015 | Reply

    • Heather, I ALWAYS check your blog posts! BUT……today’s post was extra special! Thank you twice, once for the challenge which really got me motivated and once for the goodies I won!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | January 6, 2015 | Reply

  7. Love the fold forming!

    Like

    Comment by Lori Anderson | January 8, 2015 | Reply

  8. Wow you have been busy, i love the wire wrapped pieces, I was all fingers and thumbs when Itried it.

    Like

    Comment by eganj1 | January 13, 2015 | Reply

  9. Such lovely creations each so unique! Ingrid

    Like

    Comment by lilisgems | January 15, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

