Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Bead Hoarder’s Blog Hop


Lori Anderson, of Pretty Things blog is hosting this hop.   Our challenge is to use a bead or beads we have been hoarding and make something.  We all have stashes of beads we buy, thinking we are going to make something but have no idea what it is yet.   The beads end up laying around in our storage area and we add more beads.   I am guilty of this for sure.

Bead_Hoarders_Blog_Hop2

 

I chose this octopus bracelet component from Bead Freaky.   I love octopi.   I love this little guy, and he has laid in the drawer long enough.   Because I chose black, I’ve just had a hard time being inspired by what to make.   At first, I had only a title for the piece:  Black Water.  Those of you who know me, know I go for music to match my blog and post but Black Water by the Doobie Brothers is about the Mississippi River and I think there are no octopi there.  There was a movie trailer for a film called Black Water but it was about giant crocodiles, so no octopi there.   I decided to go for fantasy art.

I found this wallpaper which was free and no artist I can credit.  I love this.  It’s weird and wonderful.

blackwater

I also found this Kraken.  Now who does not like Kraken? That’s the photo I decided to go with so it’s off to PicMonkey to make a photo collage I can work with.

kraken

I could not find an artist to credit with this one either so I’ll refer you back to the blog where I found it, a WordPress blog by M.L. Aitken, a “fantasy devotee” from their Mythical
Creatures post.  Check it out.  There is also a cool picture of the Lock Ness monster.

Anyhow, it’s settled.  When I think of Black Water, I think of mystery and danger and mythical creatures.  I think of moon and starlight, silvery-gold, reflecting off dark waters.  I think of shivers, that aren’t just chills from the fog as I gaze down into those dark waters wondering what lies below.

I started with a ceramic bracelet focal I had been hoarding, from Bead Freaky.  I wasn’t sure which chain I was going to use until I started going through the box of chain.   I found this weird gunmetal chain with a sort of ropey, nautical look that I had found at the thrift shop (me….humming the Thrift Shop tune….)  Original intent was to add some copper chain, but I didn’t like the way that looked.   Now, I know this is plain but I want the eye to go to my little octopus/kraken, not his accessories.  I settled for copper bead caps with silver headpins and I’ve got some really mixed metals.   I used hematite beads.  Real black would be too dark for black water and hematite has that silvery patina of shimmery water.;

Black Water

Black Water

 

 

 

 

Love this hop.   I managed to use my focal I had been hoarding AND that weird chain I picked up on a whim.   Thanks, Lori, for putting this together.   Let’s go see what the rest of the ladies made.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lori Anderson www.PrettyThingsBlog.com  (Hostess)
Audrey Belanger esperianterra.blogspot.com
Jenny Kyrlach http://anafiassa.blogspot.com/
Kathy Lindemer http://bay-moon-design.blogspot.com/
Lori Schneider http://beadaddicted.blogspot.com/
Dee Elgie http://cherryobsidia.blogspot.co.uk
Dolores Raml http://craftydscreations.wordpress.com
Rebecca Ednie Http://eclecticendeavours.blogspot.com
Lili Krist http://emjestudio.blogspot.com/
Marybeth Rich http://forestofjewels.blogspot.com/
Hannah Rosner http://goodrivergallery.wordpress.com/blog/
Nicole Prince http://healingbeading.blogspot.com/
Deana Hager http://justdeesarts.blogspot.com/
Jackie Ryan http://kydojewellery.blogspot.co.uk/
Elsie Deliz-Fonseca http://ladelizchica.blogspot.com/
Mowse Doyle http://mowsemadethis.blogspot.com/
Evelyn Shelby http://raindropcreationsbyevelyn.blogspot.com
Lisa Johnson http://spudandmrsbutters.blogspot.com/
Terri Gauthier http://terrisbloomingideas.blogspot.com/
Patti Pruhs http://threebeadsandastring.blogspot.com
Shai Williams http://www.shaihasramblings.com/
Andrea Glick http://zenithjade.blogspot.com/
K Hutchinson https://jumbledhutch.wordpress.com
Marci Brooks https://thatnothingbewasted.wordpress.com/
Jo-Ann Woolverton itsabeadifulcreation.blogspot.ca
Jasvanti Patel Jewelrybyjasvanti.blogspot.com
Laurie Vyselaar Lefthandjewelry.wordpress.com
Lisa Knappenberger LIRaysaDesigns.blogspot.com
Mary Lindell marylindell.com
Niky Sayers silverniknats.blogspot.co.uk
Sandra McGriff skyescreativechaos.blogspot.com
Patricia Handschuh thecolorofdreams.blogspot.com
Erin Prais-Hintz treasures-found.blogspot.com
Maria Rosa Sharrow willowstreetshops.blogspot.com
Kathleen Breeding www.99bobotw.blogspot.com
Monique Urquhart www.ahalfbakednotion.blogspot.com
Jackie Locantore www.artfire.com/ext/shop/blog/MorningStar
Sheryl Stephens www.babblebead.blogspot.com
Becky Pancake www.beckypancakebeaddesigns.blogspot.com
Mona Arnott www.bijouxgemsjoy.blogspot.ca
Michelle Escano www.cabbycraft.com
Denise McCabe www.cabewoman.blogspot.com
Carolyn Lawson www.carolynscreationswa.blogspot.com
Sheila Prose www.catswithbeads.blogspot.com
Kim Dworak www.cianciblue.blogspot.com
Iveth Caruso www.CreativeAtelier.net/blog
Deborah Apodaca www.deborahapodacadesigns.blogspot.com/
Elizabeth Bunn www.elizabethbeads.blogspot.com
Janine Lucas www.esfera.me/travel/blog/travel-stories
Kari Asbury www.hippiechickdesign.blogspot.com
Inge von Roos www.ingetraud.wordpress.com
Divya N www.jewelsofsayuri.com
Debbie Rasmussen www.kepirasmussen.blogspot.com
KJ www.kjsbeadaciousbeads.blogspot.com/
Klaudete Koon www.klaudetekoon.blogspot.com
Ghislaine Kruse-van Erp www.kruseartllc.com
Ginger Bishop www.lilmummylikes.blogspot.com
Kelly Schermerhorn www.meanderingwithkelly.blogspot.com
Mischelle Andrade www.micheladasmusings.blogspot.com 
Sue Kelly www.midlifegreaterexpectations.blogspot.com
Rachel Mallis www.mintmonarch.com/#!Blog/c1jlz
Susan McClelland www.mistheword12.com
Mary K McGraw www.mkaymac.blogspot.com
Tania Spivey www.moobiegracedesigns.blogspot.com
Stephanie Perry www.mustardbeadbystephanieperry.blogspot.com
Mitzie Crider www.NeedfulLuxuries.Blogspot.com
Nicole Rennell Www.nicolerennell.com/blog
Nicole Valentine www.nvalentine.blogspot.com
Karen Mitchell www.overthemoon-design.com
Tammy Adams www.paisleylizard.com/blog/
Patty Miller www.pattymillerbeads.blogspot.com
Blanca Medina www.peru-medesigns.com
Stephanie Haussler www.pixybugdesigns.blogspot.com
Roxanne Mendoza www.roxidesigns.blogspot.com
Claire Fabian www.saraccino.blogspot.com
Bridget Torres www.shears58.net
Donetta Farrington www.simplygorgeous-donetta.blogspot.com
Lee Koopman www.stregajewellry.wordpress.com
Deb Fortin www.studiok24.blogspot.ca
Susan Walls Www.susansartcircus.com/blog
Cece Cormier www.thebeadingyogini.com
Heather Otto www.thecrafthopper.com
Lizzie Clarke www.theneedtobead.blogspot.co.uk
Elizabeth Hodges www.thewhisperingseas.blogspot.com
Fay Wolfenden www.torchfairy.blogspot.com
Kelly Hosford Patterson www.TravelingSideShow.blogspot.com
Nan Smith www.wirednan.blogspot.ca
Jayne Capps www.mamasgototdoodle.blogspot.com

Robin Kae Reed                                      http://www.willowdragon.blogspot.com/ Melissa Trudinger                                   https://beadrecipes.wordpress.com/

 

December 6, 2014 - Posted by | challenges, fashion, Jewelry, New Age | , , , , ,

24 Comments »

  1. Wopw, I love the bead you used and the theme you worked it in. so creative !

    Like

    Comment by Audrey Belanger | December 6, 2014 | Reply

  2. Brilliantly designed! Way to go de-stashing!

    Like

    Comment by Terri G. | December 6, 2014 | Reply

  3. Your piece really shows your inspiration. What a great jewellery representation of the idea of ‘Black Water’. Just looking at it makes me think of stormy seas full of mysterious and dangerous creatures ready to devour any pirate that may have to walk the plank! Great stuff 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Lizzie | December 6, 2014 | Reply

    • LOL, you gave me the shivers………I love fantasy.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 7, 2014 | Reply

  4. So creative – love the design!

    Like

    Comment by simplysterling | December 6, 2014 | Reply

  5. Yes, the beautiful can be a little scary, and vice versa! Love the cool design, especially using the thrift store chain (awesome, Lee, makes me which we had some in my town LOL).

    Like

    Comment by Monique U | December 7, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks Monique. I wish you had some in your town also. They sure are fun.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 7, 2014 | Reply

  6. I love the way you embraced the spirit of this blog hop…your treasures were put to good use, and they are lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Donetta | December 7, 2014 | Reply

  7. Great work… nice use of the octopus

    Like

    Comment by Fay wolfenden | December 7, 2014 | Reply

  8. wow, what an amazing focal. Kraken( close enough to octopi, ) star in many of my favorite novels0 I wish octopi would become animal of the year, like owls were everywhere last year. In Japan they seek octopus pancakes as street food, and I can never eat them because I like and respect octopi so much. This is getting to be a weird post, so let me compliment you on the pairing of the chain and pendant. they look good together

    Like

    Comment by sheis prose | December 7, 2014 | Reply

    • Another octopi lover! We may have to start a movement! We can post on Facebook, crazy and kooky pictures of octopi and kraken! Next year, we could have a Kraken blog hop!
      I could never eat an octopi pancake either. Italians have cooked octopus called squingeelie (not sure about the spelling) It sounds cruel to me, LOL.
      Love the weird turn your post took and got right into the spirit of that one.
      Thanks.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 7, 2014 | Reply

  9. Gorgeous bracelet and the theme you used was awesome!

    Like

    Comment by kepi rasmussen | December 7, 2014 | Reply

  10. Great job! Love the pendant and hearing about your inspiration behind the bracelet. The chain is perfect too!

    Like

    Comment by Roxanne Mendoza | December 7, 2014 | Reply

  11. Love it! This is so pretty, I got lost looking and almost forgot to comment.

    Like

    Comment by marcibrooks | December 8, 2014 | Reply

  12. Your creation is both dark and happy, I really like that! Very nice bracelet, I would wear it in a heart beat!

    Like

    Comment by Ghislaine Kruse-van Erp | December 8, 2014 | Reply

    • secretly I love the dark side. I can’t wait to wear it.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 8, 2014 | Reply

  13. What a great piece! I love the story of the found chain because is perfect with the focal. And the photography is wonderful!

    Like

    Comment by Elizabeth Hodges | December 8, 2014 | Reply

    • I am glad to hear the comment about the photo. I have such a hard time with my pictures and really liked the way this one came out. I may do this more often.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 8, 2014 | Reply

  14. Great bracelet! I love the focal, and I am a HUGE fan of “weird chain”.

    Like

    Comment by beadlove | December 8, 2014 | Reply

  15. What a great bracelet. Love that focal

    Like

    Comment by janine lucas (esfera jewelry) | December 8, 2014 | Reply

  16. Hi Lee your bracelet is wonderful. It is very unique. The chain looks perfect with your octopus. Great job.

    Like

    Comment by Becky Pancake | December 9, 2014 | Reply

  17. Lee- Your bracelet is ver cool! Well done!

    Like

    Comment by Kathy Zeigler Lindemer | December 12, 2014 | Reply

  18. Love your story and design

    Like

    Comment by Lori Schneider. Beadaddicted.blogspot | December 14, 2014 | Reply

  19. Oh wow! Creative!!!!

    Like

    Comment by Lori Anderson | January 5, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

