Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

2014 Art Charm Swap & Charity Auction


Once again it’s time for the annual Art Charm Swap and Charity Auction. It’s always amazing to see what beautiful charms everyone makes. Each person makes 11 charms, ten to swap and 1 to auction. Beads of Courage is such a great charity. You can read all about it here.

Every year, there is a theme and we design around that theme. This year’s theme word is SOAR.

artcharmbutton

 

OMG…..I really had a time with this because SOAR is not the same as FLY but everything I could think of was more of a flyer than a soaring thing. I mean, eagles soar and gliders, but what else. Technical dictionary difference between fly and soar was no help because apparently soaring is higher and “effortless” and seems to have to visible power.

Time for a little mood music here

It was days before I came up with the notion that one humble thing soars (besides prices that is) and that simple thing is a kite. It meets the criteria……so the next step is coming up with a kite charm. I toyed with the idea of resin paper and wire but how was I going to get the wire “sticks” to hold together? I finally settled on polymer clay and I am not going to tell you how many of these things I burned to a crisp before I got the right temperature. Let me just say that I am certainly sure that my smoke detector works.

And I will never admit how much trouble those tiny tails were! Never!

Anyhow, I thought you might like to know a bit about kites before I show you my charm.

kiteplain

Do you know that kites have been a part of history for over 3000 years? They originated in the Orient and Maylasia where they still have colorful kite festivals. Directions to build kites were brought to Europe by Marco Polo in 1295.

They have been used by the military from ancient times when they were used to frighten enemies or scout enemy positions. They have been used in modern military times to carry explosives, and to spy.

They’ve been used for fishing and to observe weather conditions and to study them also.

And kites have been used for fun all through the ages.

 

kiteoctopus

Kites come in all sorts of shapes and sizes and many places have kite festivals with unusual kites and contests.

kitefancy

kiteunusual

None of these are the reasons I wanted kites to be my charms. One of the uses for kites was to reach God’s ears. Prayers for good crops or good weather or for help through tough situations were tied to kites and the words carried straight to the heavens. Sometimes they were elaborately made with silk and bright paintings. Sometimes, the poorer people made them with simple paper. Whatever the material, the need was the same, to reach high, to soar to the heights and take the message for help and comfort.

I thought of how much courage it takes to face debilitating diseases and how many prayers might be said and how many hopes might be sent high into the heavens.   A kite charm seemed the perfect vehicle to send these prayers. And so, my kite charm was born.  It’s a very simple little thing but it has a lot of meaning attached.’

 

100

I wanted to post all of the charms I received BUT, I”m having issues with the camera so I have pictures of three that will be going as gifts this Christmas

031

these angel wings will be going to a special friend who lost her only son and who will be having a very sad Christmas.

032

 

This balloon will be going to another special friend who is mouring a lost son….the third she has lost.

034

 

And this joyous little bird will, of course, go to my beautiful daughter who loves all birds!

I will be finding homes for the rest of the charms, never fear!   I’ve made some special charm holders.

Please check out the Art Charm Auction.   there are some beautiful charms from some fantastic artists and the proceeds go to a great cause.

 

And if you want to visit the other blogs, here is a list of the rest of the participants.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

November 16, 2014 - Posted by | challenges, fashion, Jewelry | , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. When is the auction and how do we get there? Do you have a link?

    Like

    Comment by Dawn | November 16, 2014 | Reply

  2. What beautiful meaning attached to your lovely charm!

    Like

    Comment by niky | November 25, 2014 | Reply

  3. I got your kite charm and it is absolutely lovely! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Elisabeth | November 25, 2014 | Reply

  4. Kites have such a joyful feel to them. It’s a feeling that never goes away.

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by windbent | November 25, 2014 | Reply

  5. Love your charm… I’m now looking for an octopus kite 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Comment by Caroline Dewison | November 26, 2014 | Reply

  6. Sorry you had a little trouble with early batches – but your kites came out looking great!

    Like

    Comment by Jenny | December 1, 2014 | Reply

  7. Thank you for the history and great photos of kites….fascinating. You made beautiful charms of polymer clay. It was worth your persistence. thank you for featuring my little blue bird of happiness. I hope your daughter will enjoy it.

    Like

    Comment by wirednan | December 1, 2014 | Reply

    • LOL, she came over right after she read the post.
      She loved him.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 2, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

