Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Twice as Nice Bloghop


Welcome! It’s the 14th Bead Soup Café blogger/non blogger challenge and the first one I’ve joined. this one is sponsored by Toltec Jewels. We’ve got 2 palettes to design from for a not so typical Christmas in July hop.   Check them out.  I love both of them!

twiceasnicehop

I’m not crazy about Christmas.  As a pagan, YULE is my winter celebration.   For pagans, Yule is one of the lesser holidays, not at all like Christmas which is a HUGE deal!   Even so, it has a lot of meaning.   Yule celebrates the longest night of the year, a turning point.   We know that even though the coldest part of the winter is yet to come, after Yule, the Long Night,  the nights begin to get shorter and the days begin to get longer, a few minutes every day.  It marks the beginning of the end of the “dark season” and it’s a time of great hope and the promise of spring to come.

In older times, the choicest of the winter stores would be taken out and used for the winter feast as a token of faith that the Lord and Lady would see you through the lean times ahead, a symbol of your belief in the promise of the spring and summer to come, when once again fresh food would be in abundance for all.  Even though your winter stores were getting lower and the game animals were finding it hard to feed themselves and becoming scarcer, that feast would happen.   These days, we don’t have to worry about such things but we still celebrate Yule.  It marks our faith that through any dark times, we will be sustained.   Yule is a happy festival and besides having good food and gathering with good friends, you want to give a special gift to those you care about…….one gift, not a shower of presents like Christmas…..one gift that means something.

First, how about a little mood music?   Here’s a tune that has been used hundreds of times to represent witchery in all kinds of movies and television scores……Carmina Burana.   The video is pretty cool also.  If you have time to watch and not just listen while you scroll.   It has a joy about it that reflects the season.  It’s a beautiful rendition of Carmina Burana and by far my favorite “Flashmob” video!

 

I really was drawn to that first palette.   I like that nature theme and while I like the colors in both palettes, the nature theme seems more wintery to me.  I pulled some colors from that first picture for most of my pieces.   I like the fact that is not all red and green like the usual Christmas colors.  There are browns and greys and blues and lots of white/silver for the snow.  And the red and green are more natural, not the glaring brights of the ho ho ho Christmas.   I did take that red color a couple of shades darker but I still think it works.   If you don’t agree…………well there’s plenty of snow to pelt me with a few snowballs.

First up, I made this locker hook bracelet  cuff.   I do love a cuff and the sari silk I had on hand seemed a good match.  I sewed on a a copper filigree then attached a piece of dichroic glass that I made way back when I first learned to make dichroics.  The gold in the sari silk is a bit festive and the copper has an earthy look I love.

 

030

 

Now for a necklace to go with that sari silk.   I had fallen in love with Badger Beads on Artfire.    The artist, Jayne LaRette is a fabulous and friendly lady of great talent.   This beautiful focal bead is the perfect match to the green in that palette AND, it came with 2 matching beads that would give me a pair of earrings.  Woot woot!   I made a faux four-in-one chain, used a copper  disc I hammered out and a bit of sari silk.   The bead can stand alone, it’s so pretty.   I makes a happy little tinkle sound against the disc.

 

copper necklace

copper necklace

 

I have to show you the bead up close

011

and the chain with the sari silk

014

and let’s not forget the earrings……

007

 

 

I was so excited about the beads I saw in Jayne’s shop, I wrote her a note with the order.  We are guild sisters on Artfire and I like to share my guild sister’s work.   I told her in the note that the bead was going to be my focal and I was so excited about this hop and blabbered on.  I guess I got her excited also because she sent me another bead as a gift and told me to play with it.   PLAY with it!   My favorite words!  And gift!   What a wonderful gesture!   If you get a chance, check out her studio on Artfire or visit her Facebook page and say hello.

This focal bead is such a deep beautiful midnight blue, its perfect to symbolize the Long Night.  I do hope you can see the swirls of antique gold in   I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it until I was listening to some Celtic music that just happened to have a lot of bagpipes.  Well, what is a festival without music and bagpipes?   EH?  (that’s the cue for some more mood music folks, get ready!)

 

While the colors in this piece are not in this palette, I still needed a Yule gift, so thought I was justified in digressing just a little.   I used antique brwass wire.   Trying to get over my Fear of Fiber, I thought I would add some plaid fabric for a woodsy tartan………just a bit.  This called for a some simple work to really focus on the beauty of the bead.   I almost think this could be a unisex piece with the leather cord.

bagpipe necklace

bagpipe necklace

 

and let’s take a closer look at that bead with its gorgeous deep blue and swirls of gold and iridescence……woooooot  I’m having fun now!!!

054

 

 

Okay, I’m back to the palette on this next piece.   I pulled out the grey and blue from the wolves and shadows, used a bit of silver for the sparkle of the snow and that woodsy reddish brown.   My little goddess is the focal.   She is Sister Red Star, made from red tiger’s eye and red jasper.   Jasper is a protective and nurturing stone and tiger’s eye helps you make right decisions.   Her energy is the sparkle of a red star in the dark night sky…..a beacon, urging you to forge ahead, the Road is clear.  Trust in the protection of your guides and your instincts.  Her beads are pietersite, a playful stone that helps you pull a childlike quality from deep within.  The energy of the piece is perfect to see you through the rest of a dark cold winter or the dark cold times of your life.

040

038

that is a lousy picture of those beautiful beads of brown and bluish grey but it’s too late now…..sigh……

Oh, I’m getting way too deep here, let’s lighten up a bit.    I did want to make something in the second palette with all those beautiful colors.   I found some perfect beads from Spawn of Flame on Artfire.   Look at these beauties!   They are lampwork in that beautiful watery blue green with rivers of silver running through them.   Rosemarie calls them Little Sirona.  Sirona was a Celtic goddess of healing springs who had numerous shrines around sulphur springs and wells .  I thought she would be a perfect “woodsy” goddess for this palette so I created these little “rain chain” earrings.  What a perfect gift for someone in need of healing energy or who wants some bubbly energy from flowing springs.

041

I think I like the shorter pair the best

042

 

 

Almost as an afterthought, I made these wreaths, pulling only the green and red from the first palette.   They are traditional Christmasy, yes?

058

 

Okay, that’s all for me today.   Please stop by and see Rita from Toltec Jewels who is our hostess for this hop!  Thanks Rita fir such a fun challenge!

 

  1. Toltec Jewels
  2. Renetha Stanziano – www.lamplightcrafts.blogspot.com
  3. Dini Bruinsma –  http://angazabychanges.blogspot.nl
  4. Tammy Adams – http://www.paisleylizard.com/blog.html
  5. Blanca Medina – http://www.peru-medesigns.com
  6. Chris Eisenberg – www.wanderware.blogspot.com
  7. Krafty Max – http://kraftymax.blogspot.com
  8. Robin Kae Reed www.willowdragon.blogspot.com
  9. Kathy Lindemer  – Bay Moon Design
  10. Marde Lowe – www.fancimardesigns.blogspot.com
  11. Andrea Glick- http://zenithjade.blogspot.com/
  12. Lee Koopman  http://stregajewlley.wordpress.com
  13. Natalie Davidson — NorthShoreDays.com
  14. LiliKrist – http://pcbylik.blogspot.com/
  15. Lori Anderson  www.PrettyThings.com
  16. Tami Norris
  17. Klaudete Koon
  18. Ginger Hammond www.facebook.com/lynnleighdesigns
  19. Kathleen A Breeding http://99bobotw.blogspot.com/
  20. Veralynne Malone www.veradesigns.blogspot.com
  21. Shalini Austin – http://jewellerybyshalini.co.uk
  22. Sheila Prose-http://catswithbeads.blogspot.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

August 17, 2014 - Posted by | challenges, fashion, Jewelry, metaphysical, New Age | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Carmina Buranavideo is a gift! Love it 🙂 Indeed, the joy of the Season. Your Badger Beads on Artfire is gorgeous — I can almost hear the wonderful tinkle of art bead on metal, and love the celebratory colorway & energy here! How fun your appreciation for her work manifested into more art to play with — your bagpipe necklace is so cool, and I love how you focused on the bead with such expertise and elegance (whether unisex or not, elegance can be for all sexes, right? 😉 Your fear of fiber just flew away on the winds of that awesome bagpipe music!

    The warmth radiating from your goddess of red tiger’s eye and red jasper, a ” red star in the dark night sky…..a beacon, urging you to forge ahead, the Road is clear” is lovely! The pietersite beads are a fab touch & your work is a star itself! I’m really drawn to your earrings featuring Spawn of Flame on Artfire beads! I love them.. spring water & swimming has been so healing for me this summer — and both earrings (I like the shorter the best too) are powerful & beautiful jewelry! And sent as if with a kiss — your wreaths! So pretty & festive, love love love them. Mwhaaa back at you!

    Happy Hopping, Happy Holiday (ha!) and great love here for you!
    Rita

    Like

    Comment by Toltec Jewels | August 23, 2014 | Reply

    • Rita, you have just blown me away with this comment! I so admire your work and praise from you is worth so much. I sure had a great time with this challenge and look forward to the next one….your Ocktoberfest. The boys and I are already making things! LOL Not much jewelry but fall fun!
      And yes, my FOF did fly away with the skirl of the bagpipes! I used two tutorials from the Haberdashery Hop this week, I think one was on your blog, the ribbon chain maille. I am HOOKED! I will be collecting ribbons and fibers and all kinds of weird stuff! THANKS a LOT, friend! LOL Off to visit some others.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | August 24, 2014 | Reply

  2. I love it. You are me. started out with the surprising rendition of carmine burana? and I enjoyed all your woodland themed jewelry. You got a great eye for detail, the necklace with bracelet set was superb, but again, my blog isn’t listed

    Like

    Comment by sheila prose | August 24, 2014 | Reply

    • Let me get your blog on the list right now. Don’t know how that happened.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | August 25, 2014 | Reply

  3. The video was really good. How wonderful, what a surprise it must have been, I can only wish I was there. and I noticed a blue bird in the picture of woodland creatures too, to synchronize with your blue necklace bead

    Like

    Comment by sheila prose | August 24, 2014 | Reply

    • Now I have to go back to the photo and look for the bird! LOL……I could have used that bagpipe necklace for that palette. I also wish I had been at that mall when they played Carmina Burana. I would love to be part of a flashmob!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | August 25, 2014 | Reply

  4. You created so many great things for this challenge. I love the richer deeper reds and greens and you chose. Much closer to nature than commercial holiday colors. The bagpipe pendant is adorable. The rain chain earrings are my favorite. I’m usually all for the longer the better when it comes to earrings, but I do like the flow of the shorter pair. Lovely pieces and a great read.

    Like

    Comment by Tammy Adams | August 24, 2014 | Reply

  5. Thank you for the music (Iove the Carmina Burana flashmob) and thank you for telling me about Yule. And wow, bagpipes… I can listen to that music for hours. Your jewelry has something special for me, it’s a mixture of different styles, very creative with really beautiful colours!

    Like

    Comment by Dini Bruinsma | August 24, 2014 | Reply

  6. […]   jewellerybyshalini Sheila Prose          catswithbeads Lee Koopman               StregaJewellry Lili Krist                            pcbylik Divya Narasimhan       […]

    Like

    Pingback by Holiday in July: 14th Blogger/Non-Blogger Challenge - Paisley Lizard | November 9, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

