Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Znet Shows Summer Challenge


Znet Shows, a great place to buy beads, has issued a summer challenge to members of it’s design team. We all received cultured sea glass beads and our challenge was to design a set for a Summer Day and one for Summer Nights. Sounds easy doesn’t it?

I had a hard time deciding what to make. I really hate summer now that I’m older. The heat makes me lazy and all I want to do is sit under a shade tree and eat ice cream all day. It wasn’t like that when I was younger so I decided to go back….back to the days when I had more fun.

Those of you who know me, know that I almost always post a song to get my readers in the mood for my design inspirations. I wanted to post Wild Summer Night from the movie, Eddie and the Cruisers but it just wasn’t on You Tube  so I chose Tender Years. It’s a song about innocence, a time before Vietnam, before there were muggings and shootings on the news every day and before people were disenchanted with the government. It was s simpler time.

So, here’s the mood music.  You can listen while you scroll down.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

musical interlude

musical interlude

 

 

And yes, believe it or not, I was one of those girls who ran around with the “bad boys” with the duck tail haircuts and leather jackets like Fonzi.  And yes, we had drag races at the flats by the river and yes, we swam at the lake all weekend and had beach parties at night with all the cars parked around a big bonfire, radios all tuned to the same station.  The beach played a huge part in our summer fun both day and night.

graphicsbeach

 

Our jewelry was simple and quite girlie girl.  This is before the days of Hippie Chic when organic materials and fibers became popular.

womens-day_10061997-031814

 

I found this great piece of druzy quartz at the rock show.  It was carved into the shape of a shell and I knew I wanted to use that for my daytime piece.  I wanted to keep it simple so I only used 2 of the matte white cultured sea glass beads that Znet sent to me.  I added a couple of freshwater pearls  and made a chain from double infinity links and matte white seed beads.  It’s perfect for jeans and a tank top or “bermuda shorts” which were the thing to wear back then.  The white is perfect to show off that summer tan and makes me think of white hot beach sand.

021

I think those white sea glass beads really make that druzy pop out, don’t you?  I also hung a sea glass charm from the wire cage a made for the “shell”.

 

Now, I just need a bracelet to go with this necklace.   I used matte white sea glass drops and dangled them from a chain.  Since charm bracelets were “in” back then,  I added some pewter charms that reminded me of summer, some bare feet, a bird, fish, butterfly.  I made a chain of matte white seed beads and silver tubes from Hill Tribe Silver and used another dainty chain . I made the clasp from a white heart button.

023

I had some other white dangles that were square (Love them!) so I made some earrings too.   I used the dangles and found some stick pearls that had a bit of a seafoam green tint,  put a chrysoberyle with them and some seafoam green mussel shell drops.  I love these earrings!

010

This matte white cultured sea glass was my favorite color.   They did send some spring green sea glass leaves.   I used those to make these flower earrings, pastel and girlie girl and perfect to wear with a summery dress.

013

 

I think that whether you go to the ocean, a lake or just the city pool, water plays a big part in everyone’s summer.   I was so glad to get these free-form sea glass beads in such a vibrant watery blue.   I used them for my Summer Nights set.  I wanted to capture the essence of “water”, its sparkle and its depth of blueness.   I wired the beads with some tiny silver lined clear seed beads for watery “waves” or shimmer.

005

 

Don’t you just love that color?   There were only 4 of them in my package (Wahhh) so I used some beads that I had on hand to fill out the necklace and added a heart locket and chain.   The earrings complete the set.

006

 

001

If you are in need of a set for your own Summer Days or Summer Nights, check these items out in my Artfire studio.   Thanks Znet Shows for sending me this fabulous cultured sea glass beads and letting me join the summer design challenge.   Check out their website and get some of these great cultured sea glass beads yourself!

And a special thanks to Graphic Stock for the cool graphics that helped tell my inspiration story.   Check out Graphic Stock website for all the graphics you can download!  I was lucky to get a sample membership for a limited time and the graphics are mine to use forever just like yours would be if you joined.   You’ll be seeing more of them on my blogs.

Please visit the Znet Shows Blog for a news and sales.  Here is a link to Znet Shows digital magazine , Creative Spark  with designs from the Summer challenge and lots of other goodies.

Creative Spark Summer 2014

 

 

 

 

 

And, would you like to visit some of the other design team members and see what they made?

Amy Severino

Andrea Trank

BeckyPancake

BobbieRafferty

BR Kuhlman

CharlieJacka

ChristieMurrow

ChristinaMiles

ChristineStonefield

CynthiaMachata

CynthiaRiggs

DonettaFarrington

HopeSmitherman

KashmiraPatel

KathyLindemer

Kay Thomerson

KellyPatterson

KlaudeteKoon

Lee Koopman

Lisa Lodge

RenethaStanziano

SandraWashington

Shaiha Williams

SherylStephens

StephanieHaussler

TammieEverly

July 5, 2014 - Posted by | New Age | , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Great pieces for the challenge! My favorites are the first white set. The white and silver are so beautiful together and your designs are very eye-catching.

    Like

    Comment by beadlove | July 5, 2014 | Reply

  2. Your pieces turned out so terrific! I love hearing some of your background and how you spent the summer as a girl. Sounds like a lot of fun. Thanks so much for playing along and sharing with us. Great job.

    Like

    Comment by CraftyHope | July 5, 2014 | Reply

  3. What a clever blog. I love the way you used all the white together. I am not great with monochromatic designs, but you made it work.

    Like

    Comment by heavenlanecreations239 | July 5, 2014 | Reply

  4. Sounds like you had awesome summers when you were younger… I was a beach baby too… Great designs…very creative and your pendents are both yummy!

    Like

    Comment by ChristinaMiles | July 5, 2014 | Reply

  5. Your designs are so light and airy…just right for summer!

    Like

    Comment by Renetha | July 5, 2014 | Reply

  6. What a great use of white, it looks so cool and summery- Nice job!

    Like

    Comment by Tammie | July 6, 2014 | Reply

  7. There is something special about the white sea glass beads, and you’ve done an amazing job of setting them off to perfection. The silver and white together are To Die For!

    Like

    Comment by Donetta | July 6, 2014 | Reply

  8. beautiful, soft and so beachy! you are set for summer with this collection

    Like

    Comment by antiquitytravelers | July 8, 2014 | Reply

  9. Hi Lee. You are right white really shows off a summer tan. I like the pastel flower earrings too. The Nighttime set is my favorite though.

    Like

    Comment by Becky Pancake | July 10, 2014 | Reply

  10. Ooh, all of your pieces are so lovely – they are so fun and summery!

    Like

    Comment by christine | July 12, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

