Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Mojo Challenge Week 9


Our challenge this week was to use an old/antique piece of jewelry as inspiration. I love Celtic jewelry but a lot of it has so many ornate triskeles and whorls and knots that I just didn’t think I could do justice to a piece, plus I do not like doing wire filigree. I found a photo online of a primitive Celtic “money ring”. Sometimes and armband, sometimes a ring, these could be used as currency. I fell in love with the simplicity of the thing and that was my springboard for a necklace.

celticbrac

I created some hand made links using brass wire, forged, then wrapped with more brass wire and used 14KGF beads as my “nubbins”.

025

Then, I used the same 16 gauge wire to make a focal combining it with some ceramic beads.l

003

 

And the whole piece came together like this.   It’s a very simple piece, but quite a bit of hand work.

002

back clasp

back clasp

 

I like it.

May 14, 2014 - Posted by | challenges, Jewelry, New Age | , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I love Celtic jewelry also. Your piece is interesting.

    Like

    Comment by Kathy Lindemer | May 14, 2014 | Reply

  2. Cool!

    Like

    Comment by Dawn | May 15, 2014 | Reply

  3. This is such a beautiful piece. I love the way you took the inspiration piece and gave it a modern signature.

    Like

    Comment by Three Well Beings | May 15, 2014 | Reply

  4. Wow! Really cool piece! I love all the details that went into your wire work and enjoyed hearing about your inspiration.

    Like

    Comment by Sarajo Spurgeon Wentling | May 15, 2014 | Reply

  5. Your wire work is gorgeous and I love that focal you made.

    Like

    Comment by Kelly Hosford Patterson | May 20, 2014 | Reply

  6. This is a really fun and unique way to find inspiration in something ancient and create an eye-catching design.

    Like

    Comment by Heather | May 23, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

