Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Mojo Challenge Week 7


Heather Powers really got me stoked THIS week! Our challenge was to create a series, using the same color but different textures and values. I thought about earrings first because they would be so easy to do. And, I had lots of different beads and findings. BUT, that wasn’t really a challenge to me. It’s something I had done before. So I decided to go outside the box, way outside my comfort zone and use polymer clay because polymer isn’t something I normally work with. I’ve made some bead caps and an Christmas ornament and that’s about it. And, I wanted to make a series of hearts.

Oh right, you say! Hearts! How exciting! Everybody and his brother has done hearts. My inspiration came from this song. It’s an oldie by Great White.

 

 

 

I love this song.  It’s raw.  It’s lowdown bluesy and it’s pain.

 

I wanted my hearts to have a sort of industrial look and maybe a hint of steampunk in one or two of them.  I chose this blue-grey color clay and liked it okay with some gunmetal accents BUT, I used a deep purple for patina.   I am not quite happy with them so what you see here are prototypes, the raw ideas for my series.   This is my “Broken Love” series and I’ve even drawn designs for a brooch, a bracelet and a choker.   Woot!  Woot!   Talk about being inspired and excited!   I do hope that Heather will give me a tip about color.  She is such a master with the polymer, I know she will be able to steer me in a better direction.  Anyhow, here we go.

 

018

this one is a steampunky heasrt.  One side is broken to show the “gears”, the inner workings of the inside.   It’s showing up a lot darker than it really is.  I don’t know why.  My photo skills.   Anyhow, for this one, I’m going to stick to a goldish color clay.  There is a really cool texture on the right side and gears on the left.

 

020

This one, I used silver Gilder’s paste on the blue but when I re-do it, I’ll  be using a lighter color for the main heart and am thinking the silver on a lighter color will help it stand out.  That’s screen in the center.

 

023

This heart has a “scratchy surface but the next time I do it with the safety pin, I’m using a different texture.  I want something that looks like fabric, not the scratchy surface.  It looks way too cracked for what I wanted.  AND the purple……YUCK!  But, I learned a lot.   There are seed beads down the delta there and I know that the final heart will be brighter and better.

025

All of them are really this color, just some are showing up much darker.  I still like the idea of blue, just a lighter blue.  These “lace” hole are seed beads and when finished, the laces will be colored wire like the heart is sewn up.

 

026

This one has a butterfly stamp on one side and a cluster of beads on the other.  I won’t go with the butterfly but maybe a flower instead.   I’ve been playing with the stamps I made.  I just wanted some contrast and I wanted the one side to be more “broken” than the other.

031

I really like this one only the next heart will be a light grey with the black screen contrast and the scratchy surface will make it look more like concrete with rebar, really industrial.  And, I’ll stick with a rivet for the hole instead of just a hole.  And that purple REALLY has to go.

 

027

 

And finally, this one has staples.  Just TRY to staple uncooked clay.  I dare you!  Again, the color has to go.   But I like the idea.  I’ll be changing both the texture and the color for this one.   The channel does not show up so well.

 

Okay, forget about the colors.  These are prototypes.  I may, in fact switch to bronze clay or silver clay which I have used a lot.   I still want to try polyclay though if I can get the color right.   I would love some input on the idea itself.  Even though I might be the only person who would ever actually WANT a broken heart………I’m going to go ahead with my series, just for myself and my own design process.  I’ve decided, as I wrote this, that some of the hearts will need to be metal clay and others will work better with poly clay.  I would LOVE to have feedback on the idea itself.

I know that “cutesy” beads are so popular, but there may be other folks out there who understand loss and pain and who would understand the need for a series like this one.   Broken hearts can heal and make you stronger.  A piece of jewelry with a broken heart could be a milestone marker, a badge of honor.

 

April 29, 2014 - Posted by | challenges, Jewelry, New Age | , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Beautiful! I know you keep saying that they are only prototypes, but some of them look perfect to me just the way they are. I have two packages of sculpy on my counter waiting to be worked up in to pentagram pendants. You just gave me the inspiration I needed to get going. Thanks!

    Like

    Comment by Sissy | April 29, 2014 | Reply

    • Oh, good, you will have so much fun! I’m glad I got you in the moor to play! thanks for the input on my hearts. I really wanted to know what people thought.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | April 30, 2014 | Reply

  2. Well, I think they’re fabulous. I tried to find my “favorite” and can’t decide. Each one pulls me in a slightly different direction. I hope you’ll show them again as you ahead with the finishes. I do like the idea of wearing them as a milestone marker or badge of honor, and as such, they would be fabulous gifts.

    Like

    Comment by Three Well Beings | April 29, 2014 | Reply

    • Wow! You really make me feel like I am headed in a good direction here. I can’t wait to make the new ones. I wish this were the last week of the mojo challenge so I could just work on those instead of the other challenges. I will certainly post them again when the good ones are done. Thank you.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | April 30, 2014 | Reply

  3. Great work! I envy your ability to create with polymer clay. I want to do more with it in the future.

    Like

    Comment by Kathy Lindemer | May 4, 2014 | Reply

  4. Broken hearts are a rite of passage. If it doesn’t kill you, it will make you stronger. To get down into the raw emotion is powerful art. They are all wonderful, but I think I especially like the steampunky one.

    Like

    Comment by Liz | May 29, 2014 | Reply

    • Exactly, Liz, that is how I see this series and my fingers are itching to get working. I’m done hopping now and have just two more weeks of the Mojo Challenge then one commitment to the Znet Shows Summer Challenge THEN I can get back to them. And yep, the steampunk is my number one also. I’m not a hearts and flowers kind of girl.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | May 29, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

