Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Monday Mojo Challenge: Poetic Inspiration


Week Six of Heather Powers Mojo Jewelry Challenge.  Use a poem, song, painting or some artistic inspiration to create a piece.

I’m not much for poetry, but for some reason, this poem has stuck with me over the years. The first time I read it, I could see a woman lazily coming her long hair, living only in the moment, telling me human time is short, we live, we die, make the most of it. I give you only the first stanze.

Four Preludes on Playthings of the Wind
by Carl Sandburg

The past is a bucket of ashes.

The woman named Tomorrow
sits with a hairpin in her teeth
and takes her time
and does her hair the way she wants it
and fastens at last the last braid and coil
and puts the hairpin where it belongs
and turns and drawls: Well, what of it?
My grandmother, Yesterday, is gone.
What of it? Let the dead be dead.

womanhair

 

I chose this poem as my inspiration for Heather Powers’ Jewelry Making Mojo Challenge this week.   My necklace is a steampunk style and has a lot of movement.   Each filagree is attached to the other by a “gear” made from a beadcap and headpin.  I am not sure I am done with it yet.  I think some keys are in order to be proper steampunk style, LOL.

First, I used this focal, a “steamy” timepiece, added some gears and used rusty and verdigris colors.  Wish I hadn’t used the verdigris because I felt it limited my colors for the cameos.  But I do love the way it looked.

011

This piece is about Time:  the past, present and future……a logical progression.  So the energy flows from one side to the other.  On our right is Youth, on our left, Tomorrow, age and finally death.

I made each of the cameos out of polymer clay.  Not sure if you can see it but over the verdigris color is some antique Gilder’s Paste.   I may want to use a bit more or some pinotage,  still thinking about it.

yesterday

yesterday

 

013

 

And all together

 

016

 

017

I should have taken a close-up shot of the final connectors, the butterfly on yesterday’s side and the owl on the tomorrow side.

I realize this isn’t a piece for everyone.   You wold really have to like steampunk and you would have to like these industrial colors, but I do like the piece myself and will most likely wear it when I dress up steampunk style.   It’s definitely an original.

 

Thanks Heather, for another interesting challenge and for making me use my head.

One side has a young woman cameo, the other

 

 

April 21, 2014 - Posted by | challenges, fashion, Jewelry, New Age, steampunk | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. The necklace is pretty. I wish I had the boobage to pull it off.

    Like

    Comment by Dee | April 21, 2014 | Reply

  2. Your focal is especially attractive. I love the colors in it.

    Like

    Comment by Kathy Lindemer | April 23, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

