Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Monday Mojo Challenge Week 5 (Makeover)


Heather Powers Mojo Jewelry Challenge is so much fun. I missed posting for week 5 last week. Life got in the way of my fun and games.
Week 5’s challenge was to make over an old piece of jewelry. Man, did I have a piece to make over. My daughter bought me the sweetest little dragon bead from Green Girl Studios last fall. Thought process: dragon, Chinese New Year, fireworks, color. I used colorful cord and beads to match, wanted explosions of beads to look like fireworks and brother, did I ever explode them! My little dragon got lost in all the action and I hated what I made. Tossed it in a drawer and felt guilty about it until the challenge prompted me to take it out and FIX IT!

ugliness inc.

ugliness inc.

 

So, I took it all apart.   I decided to lose the carved jasper focal.  Bye bye!

I used the beads and caged them in handmade wire cages. To me, they look like Chinese lanterns.

004

 

I used some faceted glass beads on the opposite side of the piece where I wanted my little dragon to be centered. They are bright and sparkle like fireworks with a lot of colors but not so colorful that they outshine the dragon himself.  Then I used the cord to make a Chinese knot, a good luck knot, in fact because dragons are lucky you know. I took only a cluster of beads at the center above the knot.

 

003

 

 

 

 

 

Dragon bead

Dragon bead

 

Much better.   Thank you Heather.

 

 

 

April 6, 2014 - Posted by | fashion, Jewelry, New Age | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I want to see the entire thing! 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Dawn | April 8, 2014 | Reply

    • I should have brought it over to you today when I came to your house. Well, there is always Sunday. Maybe I’ll wear it there. I love my little dragon.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | April 9, 2014 | Reply

  2. I hope you are wearing it now! I love your ‘lanterns’! What a fun idea. I agree – I would love to see the whole necklace too.

    Like

    Comment by Heather | April 8, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

