Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Bead Soup Partner


Every year, Lori Anderson of Pretty Things fame, hosts a massive blog hop called Bead Soup. Lori is a remarkable lady. In spite of debilitating health issues, she is a talented jewelry artist, has a blog with a huge number of followers, has her designs shown in magazines and books authored by others. She also has her own book, Bead Soup. Her blog party has grown to massive proportions. This year, over 500 women signed up.  Can you imagine to work involved?

Lori matches participants, then posts the lists of pairings. Before she matches, she reads countless blogs from all her ladies, tries to match seed beaders with other seed beaders, new people with mentors and seeks to find kindred spirits.

This is my first time to join in the fun.  I admit, I was nervous.  What if I got a partner who had their own book?  What if my beads were not good enough?  What if my partner sent me something so ugly I couldn’t make anything from it?  What if I sent something so ugly that my partner hated it?

I met my partner last week and she is so nice and supportive.   I want you to meet her.
this is Laurie Vyselaar whose blog is Left Hand Jewelry.   Laurie says she only makes jewelry for friends and family but I bet she sells some also though she does not have an online store.   She has a lot of talent.   Take a look at this photo of a  bracelet she made for a Halloween Blog Hop.  She watched a tutorial and learned how to make these adorable little pumpkins.  They are so perfect!   Not only does she work with polymer clay, she etches metal and makes beautiful bracelets.

lauriewspumpkins

And here are some photos of some of her other work.   I would love to sit down with her and just play around for a day!  I love her cuff bracelet!

Laurie's cuff bracelet

Laurie’s cuff bracelet

etched metal bracelets

etched metal bracelets

beaded bracelets

beaded bracelets

Laurie lives in Florida.   This is her second bead soup.  She sent me a beautiful soup which I cannot show yet.   The reveal for the soup is not until May 3rd.  Then we show our beads and the pieces we made from them.  She sent lots of bold colors and some spectacular glass beads that I love plus a polymer focal that is awesome!   I’ve got lots of plans for sure!

 

part of my soup

part of my soup

Look at that polymer heart!

beautiful lampwork from Carolhyn's Beads on Etsy

beautiful lampwork from Carolhyn’s Beads on Etsy

Spicy soup

Spicy soup

 

 

March 20, 2014 - Posted by | challenges, fashion, Jewelry, New Age | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I love when you do this fun stuff!!! I can’t wait to see what you received and the end result! Anticipation…………….

    Like

    Comment by Dawn | March 20, 2014 | Reply

  2. Oh wow, that looks like a Saki Silver clasp! Cool!

    Like

    Comment by Lori Anderson | March 20, 2014 | Reply

  3. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new
    project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided
    us useful information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

    Like

    Comment by nikon d5000 price | April 12, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

