Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Monday Mojo Challenge Week 3


Another week of Heather Powers Mojo Challenge: Week 3 Get out a beading book and learn something new. I’ve always wanted to try wire crochet, don’t ask me why. I can’t crochet with yarn for any length of time because it makes my hands cramp up. I do like wire crochet. The mesh reminds me of medieval Maille. Since I can’t make chain maille because my eyes aren’t what they used to be, I thought it might be fun to try crochet.   Did you hear me say fun?

I found a pattern in Wire Jewelry’s spring 2014 magazine, page 55. Most crochet wire patterns are similar to this one, simple single crochet with intermittent beads.  This is a pattern from an Etsy shop and the photo will link back to it in case you want to try it out yourself.
wirebracelet

I had something a little different in mind as you will see.   I started with black wire.   I found some gold freshwater pearls in my stash and some smokey color tiny teardrop beads.   The pearls had an antique smokey look and went perfectly with some gold color mother of pearl shell dangles I had.

Crocheting with wire is NOT fun.   The wire crimps and crinkles and bends up weird.  I’m not at all sure I enjoyed doing it but I do like the idea for my piece.   The bracelet is unfinished.   I want to do the whole thing over and make it wider on the bottom so the cuff is more flared like a lace sleeve cuff.    I also have a couple of mistakes and am not happy with them…..but this is a learning experience, right?   Also, the pattern called for a 5 ring tube clasp which I could not find in antique gold.   My idea is to use polymer clay to make some finished edges, and make my clasp of antique gold wire, some sort of large spiral.

But, you will get the general idea by looking at the pictures.

here is my Gypsy Cuff.   I do think it will look really nice when properly finished and I’m looking forward to making it again.

001

003

March 10, 2014 - Posted by | challenges, fashion, Jewelry, New Age | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I love this! I’ve never had a big desire to crochet but this… this looks like a challenge I may need to rise to. 😉

    Like

    Comment by Elizabeth in MI | March 11, 2014 | Reply

    • That’s great Elizabeth, but, when it is midnight, and you are getting all kinky with your wires and cussing when you can’t rip out a drop stitch, don’t call me and say “Lee, this is another fine mess you’ve gotten me into” LOL……….seriously, if you give it a go, I would like to see how it comes out.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | March 12, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

