Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Monday Mojo Challenge: Week 2


I joined Heather Powers 10 week Mojo Challenge. We have a new challenge every week to get our creative juices flowing. I don’t know about the rest of the participants, but I need this challenge. Snow, wind, cold, and “brain freeze” have me bogged down.

This first week, we were supposed to gather a “bead soup” mix and make some bracelets or a long necklace. Of course, I forgot to take qa picture of my bead mix before I started, go figure. I almost NEVER use pinks unless they are hot pink. I tend to work with rich, dark colors, ripe and sensuous or earthy colors. I do not think I have ever made any piece bigger than earrings with pastels: way too sugary sweet for me! I have no idea why I had pastel pink and green beads in my stash. I decided to break them out and see what I could so. There were creamy pink and green glass pearls.

glass pearls

glass pearls

I put them with these faceted celestial crystals in a lite green pastel.  Then I had some frosty pink squares with tiny flowers and green leaves.

frosty pink squares

frosty pink squares

I added a few strands of pink and green cord and some faceted pink beads plus a pink and silver bead as a focal.   Here’s my bracelet.

005

So, I made a necklace next.   It’s light and perfect for spring or summer.

008

Just to make it a bit more interesting, we can take the bracelet and add it to the necklace for a long necklace.   I like it even though these aren’t colors I would normally use.   It’s beautiful and makes me think of sunny spring days and flowers peeping up through new grass.

Long necklace

Long necklace

011

If you want to see what the rest are doing for this Mojo Challenge, stop by Heather’s Humblebeads Blog or check out the Facebook page.  

March 3, 2014 - Posted by | challenges, fashion, Jewelry, New Age | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

