Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Pagan Blog Project: Chalcedony


You knew that sooner or later, I would have to put in a post about a stone or some jewelry, didn’t you? It’s what I love and what I do.

One of my favorite stones is chalcedony. It’s a microcrystalline form of quartz which means that the quartz crystals are too tiny to be seen with the naked eye.

The chalcedony rose is one of my favorites to work with. Some ancient cultures believed that there was an ancient spirit in this rock and if you meditated, you would connect with this being who would then become one of your guides through your earth journey. If you do use one of these for meditation, you will almost see an ancient wizened face peering out at you.

meditation stone

meditation stone

In ancient times, goblets were made of chalcedony and lined with silver.  They were said to prevent poisoning.  I do not think I would care to test this.

Chalcedony is said to bring the mind, body, spirit and emotions into harmony.  It is a stone of brotherhood and goodwill and enhances group stability.   Blue chalcedony, my particular favorite, is a creative stone which opens the mind to new ideas and helps you assimilate to new situations.   According to my friend Ken Harsh who has  been collecting and dealing in rocks since 2000 B.C. ,  (RIP Ken) it was a stone worn my high priestesses of Atlantis to enhance their beauty.  Speaking from personal experience, whenever I wear it, I get compliments on how pretty I look that day.  And when you are my age, it’s hard to get compliments like that!   It’s also good for enhancing listening skills and communication skills.  It was used in weather magic and in curing illnesses associated with changes in the weather.

Here is a piece from my shop, a rougher cut of blue chalcedony.

chalcedonyheart

And this necklace, with a focal of blue chalcedony and beads of the same blue with silver beads.   You can perhaps see that is is worthy of a high priestess……the color, I mean.   my photo is not the greatest!

chalcedony necklace

chalcedony necklace

Chalcedony comes in blue, pink, red and dendritic forms.   As a healing stone, it is used, in general, as a cleanser and for giving physical stamina.   If you would like to know the specific uses for the other colors, just ask me.

February 7, 2014 - Posted by | fashion, folklore, gemstones, Jewelry, metaphysical, New Age, silver | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I really enjoyed learning something about this beautiful stone. I particularly enjoy learning about chalcedony as a meditation stone. I hope you won’t hold back from sharing about other stones. I will always be interested. 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Three Well Beings | February 8, 2014 | Reply

    • Oh-oh……..don’t get me started! I love talking about stones and the lore surrounding them.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | February 9, 2014 | Reply

  2. great post! glad to see more on the PBP posting about stones and crystals! (also, this is not a stone I think about much… I learned something today!)

    Like

    Comment by Amanda Morris | February 10, 2014 | Reply

    • You made my day! I’m always happy when someone loves to learn about stones.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | February 10, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

