Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

4th Annual Challenge of Color


ChallengeofColor_badge

Once again, Erin Prais-Hinz, of Tesori Trovati, has given us a fun color challenge.  This time, she told us about Colour Lovers, a great place for people who love color, creating palettes and coloring patterns.   So, now I have another place to play, as if Pic Monkey, Pinterest, Pogo and Facebook weren’t enough.   I’ve had lots of fun there, creating color palettes and even have a couple of followers.

Anyhow, I created this palette (

Mothra
Color by COLOURlovers

So, let me tell you how I came to make the piece I created.

I’m always looking for fun stuff to do with my grandkids.   I love to teach them things, to learn new things with them and to make things with them.   Family Fun Magazine had an article about how to make a “sauce” using bananas and brown sugar, how to “paint” it on your tree trunk or mailbox post then go out late at night with your flashlights and watch moths feeding.   The Great Moth Caper is what we call this.

I’m drawn to moths like some folks are drawn to butterflies.   I love their dark and mysterious colors and their dusky wings.   I feel bad when I find one in the house who has lost his way chasing the lights we burn at night.   When I saw this plain old gold color moth focal, I just had to have it.   It’s laid around for 6 months, waiting for me to do something with it.   Here was my opportunity.   I put a patina on the moth focal using colored pencils.

I did not want  bright colors and colored pencils give the patina a more fragile look.   I had some faceted glass beads with the misty gray/purple color I wanted to use then found those gold and midnight purple beads at JoAnn’s.   I decided that antique gold was a better color to represent the night time than bright shiny gold.   I made the figure 8 chain by hand.   If you like it, you can find the pattern in Step by Step  Wire Jewelry Magazine, the December/January 2014 issue.

Finishing touch:   some tiny stars of purple goldstone.

I call this piece Midnight in the Garden.

Midnight in The Garden

Midnight in The Garden

muted colors with colored pencils

muted colors with colored pencils

013

handmade chain

handmade chain

 

One “twist” to the challenge was to take the last word of each of the colors in the palette and make a sort of tone poem.  The last word of the color would be the first word of the next line.   This wasn’t easy, especially with the colors in my palette.   Here they are:

Mauve Eyes      Sweeter…….  Dark Grape……………….    Wedding Lilac………..    Smokey Wings

This is the tone poem I came up with

Eyes of shade

Sweet masquerade

Grape draped shadows

Of lilac mysteries

Wings of smoke

Eyes of midnight

In the garden

As always, I’ve had a great time, thanks to Erin Prais-Hintz whose challenges always lead me down new paths.    Why don’t you check out what the other artists have done with their challenge?   Here is the link.

December 2, 2013 - Posted by | fashion, Jewelry, Kid Stuff | , ,

20 Comments »

  1. Goodness but I love this palette! The colors are muted but still so full of life, like the last days of a late summer garden. I love the thought of going out and watching moths feed on your concoction. I bet you are one special grandma! I love your poem as well. So creative! That deco moth is really beautiful. I hope you sealed those colored pencils so it lasts a good long time. Beautiful! Thank you so much for playing along with me in the 4th Annual Challenge of Color! Enjoy the day. Erin

    Like

    Comment by Erin Prais-Hintz | December 2, 2013 | Reply

    • Oh yeah, Erin, those colors are sealed up tight! I do not want to lose them.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 3, 2013 | Reply

  2. I love your story of The Great Moth Caper! The necklace is beautiful, and I love that you patinaed the focal with colored pencils. It turned out great.

    Like

    Comment by beadlove | December 3, 2013 | Reply

  3. Beautiful palette and design for this challenge! I really like the close up images showing the details, and the background story about your fondness for moths. This is absolutely a magnificent statement necklace. Well done!!! 🙂

    Like

    Comment by marshanealstudio | December 3, 2013 | Reply

  4. What a great focal and so clever to color it with colored pencils, it looks beautiful! Your handmade chain really sets it off too, great work!!

    Like

    Comment by Cory Tompkins | December 3, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you. I love that chain and will be using it again for sure.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 4, 2013 | Reply

  5. Lovely palette and lovely necklace! Nice colouring with the pencils. I especially like the look on the wing sections in the background.

    Like

    Comment by manekibeader | December 3, 2013 | Reply

    • I love those wing sections too. I was so pleased with how they came out. It’s the first time I tried colored pencils and it will not be the last.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 4, 2013 | Reply

  6. Love the story that goes with your design! Purple is one of my favorite colors. Love the moth focal.

    Like

    Comment by Renetha | December 4, 2013 | Reply

  7. Wonderful Art Deco pendant, just gorgeous! I love the story behind its inspiration, and the palette is very much in moth shades.

    Like

    Comment by mtrudinger | December 4, 2013 | Reply

  8. The palette is beautiful and I love how you colored the moth. I would never have thought of colored pencils and they look so amazing! I also love the links you made. I will be checking out that issue. 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Tanya | December 4, 2013 | Reply

  9. I enjoyed reading the story behind your necklace and the Great Moth Caper nighttime activity – something I should try with my kids! Your necklace is gorgeous – the focal is just so stunning. I’m so happy that you enjoyed my wire link pattern from SBS Wire – this is the first project that I have seen with it in use and it just beautiful!

    Like

    Comment by Cindy Wimmer (@sweetbeadstudio) | December 4, 2013 | Reply

    • Cindy I meant what I said about that wire pattern. I was thrilled with it! And I just know I’ll be using it again. Thanks.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 5, 2013 | Reply

  10. Absolutely stunning – the palette is beautiful and the design just gorgeous, love the vintage feel to the whole piece.

    Like

    Comment by Caron | December 4, 2013 | Reply

  11. Beautiful necklace, and I really enjoyed reading about your process. Love your poem, too. I even recognized the chain pattern from SBS Wire. Kudos!

    Like

    Comment by Laurel Hanson | December 6, 2013 | Reply

  12. Awesome pendant and I love what you did with the colored pencils to keep the colors muted! Love the figure eight twist wire and the accent beads you used! Stunning piece!

    Like

    Comment by Beth | December 8, 2013 | Reply

  13. The focal is amazing! The patina colours you used are perfect for the colour palette!

    Like

    Comment by Jo Rhodes-Nash | December 8, 2013 | Reply

  14. Your ornaments and your necklace are gorgeous!

    Like

    Comment by Keith@Vintage Crab Jewelry | December 13, 2013 | Reply

    • Thank you, Keith. You must have checked out my other post to see a necklace and I thank you for taking the time.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | December 13, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

