Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Bubble Wands, Buttons and Obsessions


Most of the folks I know who make and sell jewelry, are gearing up for the holiday season, making jewelry that relates to winter and Christmas. Me? I’ve got my mind on kids….what to make them for stocking stuffers and what they can make to give to other people. And, I have to admit, my little ADHD brain flits from one project to another. Spend a week with my and you will see.

Monday: I saw a pattern for “fairy” bubble wands and thought they would be fun for some little girls that I know (well, and I might like one also). I made some. They were easy. BUT…I can’t decide if I like them with little flowers wired to them or just beads, or flowers and ribbons, or beads and flowers.

fairy bubble wands

fairy bubble wands

Tuesday:  I saw the cutest thing in a magazine at the doctor’s office and thought it would be a cool gift for a little girl.   You use an embroidery hoop and yarn and make this thingie.   You hang it on the wall and it holds scrunchies and barrettes.  So, I had to make one of those.

scrunchie holder

scrunchie holder

I saw another picture in a magazine.  The idea was for kids to take an everyday washer from the hardware store and paint it with nail polish, then hang it from a cord and make a cool necklace.   You know I can’t just use nail polish or anything so simple.   I sponge painted some washers I had.  I left some others plain.  I used the plain ones to make two of my little guys necklaces and used the painted ones to make bracelets.   They are just starting to like jewelry.   My little brain got so carried away that the kids will have no fun at all making these because I have used all the washers.

Here are the necklaces.

boyish necklaces

boyish necklaces

And the bracelets

014

016

Wednesday, I was supposed to be working in the yard but I got a bit distracted when I saw a picture of these Zen spiral necklaces.   I made 2 and a pair of earrings.   They could go for either a boy or girl (I have plenty of each).

Zen spiral necklace

Zen spiral necklace

Thursday it was way too hot to work outside.  I played around on the computer for a while and saw a tutorial to make these cute little earrings out of buttons.   After I got the housework done, I sat around inside and watched a movie or two while I made the earrings.   I might have got just a bit obsessed with them because I ended up with twenty four pair of them.   YES, I said 24!  Stop laughing!   Aren’t they cute?   I call them my Hippy Dippy Peace Freak Flower Power Earrings.   ………And YES, I know I am supposed to be organized and thinking up winter jewelry.   I got distracted.   It happens!

Hippy Dippy Peace Freak Flower Power Earrings

Hippy Dippy Peace Freak Flower Power Earrings

Cute as a Button!

Cute as a Button!

Over the weekend, I decided I had flitted around all week and it was time to finish up some projects I had started a couple of weeks ago.  One necklace had a curious crimp on one side of it and had to be restrung.   I got it right this time.

black and silver necklace

black and silver necklace

I had made these filagree and flower pieces and could not decide if I wanted them to be Big Ole Hootchie Mama Earrings or brooches.  Finally decided on one pair or earrings and two brooches.   One will go to my mom.   Hey, at least I’m in a FALL  color mode!

025

Next on my agenda was to make one new thing this week out of a book I had bought.   My goal is to duplicate most of the pieces in said book and by doing so, hone my skills with multistrand necklaces.   This is the fifth piece I’ve tried, not copied, but modified and made it my own.    I”m not sure I am happy with this one.   I may make a change and tweak it just a bit more.   Some things have to be tweaked before I am satisfied with them.   Some have to be tweaked more than once.

piece BT (before tweaking)

piece BT (before tweaking)

Sunday we got some cooler weather so I gave myself a break and got out of the house.   I roamed around two different flea markets, talked to some people and bought 3 tiny cactus plants.   They are so cute.   I want to make a sort of zen cactus garden  with rocks and crystals and succulents in a size that I can take outside next spring then bring back into the house. next fall.    Again, I am not thinking FALL jewelry.   But, that’s the way I roll.

September 17, 2013 - Posted by | fashion, Jewelry, Kid Stuff | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Love all your new work. esp the multistrand necklace. very cool!!

    Like

    Comment by Mary Harding | September 17, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

