Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Staycation Blog Hop: It’s Great in Dayton


Travel Bloghop

Travel Bloghop

Once again, Erin Prais-Hinz of Tesori Trovati jewelry, is hosting a blog hop. Her Challenge was, instead of traveling far away, to write about our own home and tell why it would be a great place to have a “staycation”.

I’ve lived in Dayton, Ohio since 1979 when I moved from upstate New York. I came here from a beautiful place in the Adirondack Park that had gorgeous mountains, awesome lakes and lots of outdoor things to do. Many of my friends were musicians and my life was full of music and beautiful landscape. I loved to hunt and fish and just to walk in the woods to soothe my spirit. I hated Ohio at first. It seemed flat and boring and my beloved mountains were far away. I could not walk across the street and go fishing on a huge lake. I knew no one except my next door neighors.

Today, I have loads of friends and Dayton is no longer boring to me. Let me tell you about this town I live in.

Dayton, much like Detroit, was a motor town. General Motors and Chrysler provided income for so many people and so many smaller businesses depended upon these large factories. Many places made parts, other companies delivered parts, trucking companies, manufacturers, and the fallout extended to the retail stores. Without the generous incomes from the auto plants, people were not making purchases. When GM took away their plants, the town took a nosedive. Dayton is struggling to find its niche.

People who used to have money to travel now looked for entertainment at home. It’s surprising how much there is to do in my city, if you only look around., If you are a fan of the “great outdoors”, as I am, we have beautiful rivers. The Miami and the Little Miami run right through the town. The Five Rivers Metro Parks organization has so many wonderful places to visit that are not only beautiful but educational. There are working farms with exhibits of pioneer farming ways, beautiful gardens, wild life, a butterfly house and acres of land to explore, plus canoeing and for rock hounds, plenty of places to collect fossils.

2nd St. Market
Aullwood Garden
Carriage Hill
Cox Arboretum
Deeds Point
Eastwood
Englewood
Germantown
Hills & Dales
Huffman
Island
Possum Creek
RiverScape
Sugarcreek
Sunrise
Taylorsville
Twin Creek
Wegerzyn Gardens
Wesleyan

Dayton has a thriving community of musicians, fine artists in all types of music.  The Ohio Players put Dayton on the music map.  Now we host 3 music festivals, jazz, blues and reggae.   They are free concerts held downtown at Dave Hall Plaza, a small park right in the heart of downtown.

Rasta Reggae Festival

Rasta Reggae Festival

Most of all, I think Dayton is famous for the National Air Force Museum located near Wright Patterson Air Force Base.   Anything you ever wanted to know about planes and aviation history is right here.   The exhibits are fantastic even if you are not really enthusiastic about planes.

Dayton is also proud of its own part in aviation history.   Wilbur and Orville Wright, the fathers of modern air planes, had a several shops here in town.   the Wright Brothers Bicycle Shop was located at1127 West Third Street.  The bicycle business of the Wright brothers, the Wright Cycle Company (originally the Wright Cycle Exchange) occupied five different locations in Dayton, Ohio. The brothers formally published a newspaper through their printing business. Orville and Wilbur Wright began their bicycle repair business in 1892. They also rented and sold bicycles.[3] In 1896 they began manufacturing and selling bicycles of their own design, the Van Cleve and St. Claire, named after their ancestors.The Wrights used the profits from the Wright Cycle Company to finance their aviation experiments. They became obsessed with aerodynamics and built a wind tunnel in the bicycle shop
They conducted pioneering wind tunnel tests on the second floor of their bicycle shop at 1127 West Third St., the last location of their bicycle business.

Wright Cycle Shop on West 3rd Street

Wright Cycle Shop on West 3rd Street

In that building they designed and constructed their gliders and first airplane, the Wright Flyer. It cost under $1,000 to build the Wright Flyer.[ The shop closed in 1909 and they started their aviation company.In In 1937 the building was moved to Greenfield Village, Dearborn, Michigan by Henry Ford with the cooperation of Orville Wright and Wilbur.

So, what did I come up with to represent my town?   I could have done floral or nature themed jewelry, but I decided to focus on the Wright Brothers tie.   Dayton is a home for technological history and in its current economical struggle, is trying to attract more of the newer technologies.   What to use to represent the manufacturing trade and combine it with local aviation history?

Souds like STEAMPUNK to me!

I started with this old fashioned tricycle focal, added some gears and a propeller that actually works (steampunk is all about movement and gears and stuff).   I used a steampunk toggle that I have made myself and handmade coils plus some gears and washers and a few beads.   Ihe focal and some of the gears have a camouglage finish except I used dark blue instead of dark army green, the blue to represent blue skies and aviation.   The few beads are deep blue, not just for blue skies but for my love of blues music (only I will see that symbolism, LOL).

Steampunk Tricycle and toggle

Steampunk Tricycle and toggle

parts all laid out

parts all laid out

Are you ready?   Here is the finished piece:  The Wright Brothers Steampunk Style

Wright Brothers Steampunk Style

Wright Brothers Steampunk Style

002

I love the little propellers so much that I made some earrings, not to match the piece, but still in the same theme.  The picture in the bezel is a little biplane, similar to the Wright Flyer.   On the back I mod podges the blueprints for the plane.   And, did I tell you, the propellers really work?

Propeller Earrings with a biplane decoupaged on the back.

Propeller Earrings with a biplane decoupaged on the back.

If you ever come to Dayton, shoot me an email and I’ll show you some of my favorite places.  For now, why not head over to Erin’s Blog and visit some of the other women’s hometowns.  Maybe we will all have to add a guest room!

August 29, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. I love your steampunk jewelry, it reflects the story of your town.

    Like

    Comment by Karin G | August 31, 2013 | Reply

  2. Your piece is awesome! I love that the propellers move! All of the different components are great and I think you captured your hometown perfectly with this piece!

    Like

    Comment by Beth | August 31, 2013 | Reply

  3. Dayton sounds like a great city with rich history! I just love that steampunk piece you made!!!

    Like

    Comment by Alice | August 31, 2013 | Reply

  4. Yay, steampunk! You can’t possibly go wrong with that! I very much love the necklace and the earrings. Thank you for showing us around in your hometown, I very much enjoyed the tour. 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Sandra | August 31, 2013 | Reply

  5. I loved reading how you grew to love your new place and really like the necklace and earrings which I imagine would be a joy to wear! And what’s not to love about blues music!? Thank you so much for this post!

    Like

    Comment by monsoonwendy | August 31, 2013 | Reply

  6. I love the necklace and earrings and how they tie into the Wright brothers! Both look like so much fun to wear!

    Like

    Comment by Tanya | September 1, 2013 | Reply

  7. Super kool – what a great place to visit – loved reading all about Dayton and your design is a wonderful reflection of the history of this gorgeous town.

    Like

    Comment by Caron | September 1, 2013 | Reply

  8. I love the history of the Wright brothers in your town. Plus you captured the feeling of putting parts together to achieve a goal. Great job. Andrea

    Like

    Comment by Andrea Ross | September 3, 2013 | Reply

  9. Your town has great history and you’ve really captured it in your necklace and earrings. Love them!

    Like

    Comment by mtrudinger | September 3, 2013 | Reply

  10. Wow! What a great history lesson you have given us! That is fascinating that your town has such a tie to the invention that really changed the world. Steampunk is the perfect answer for this inspiration! Your necklace with its whimsy really makes me smile. I love the fact that it has movement, too! I am sorry that it took me so long to get around to all the great hometowns! I wanted to be sure that I could spend uninterrupted time enjoying them all! Thank you for joining me on the journey. Enjoy the day! Erin

    Like

    Comment by Erin Prais-Hintz | September 20, 2013 | Reply

  11. That’s neat. I really like the Steampunk jewelry!

    Like

    Comment by livesinstone | September 21, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

