Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

What IS This?


?????

?????

I would love to have someone tell me what kind of plant IS this?   I saw it at the garden center and just has to take pictures   It looks like some otherworld man eater.   And, you see that yellow center?   That’s not a center, that is a chute.   Take a look at the side shot.

side shot

side shot

 

That looks like an engorged stomach or something else sinister.  I have visions of sliding down the center chute and ending up in this thing, like Alice down the rabbit hole.   Eeeeuuuuwww!!!

 

004

 

Now, I hate to say the obvious, but this sort of looks phallic to me……….maybe it’s just my warped mind, but…..eeeuuuwww, again.

Anyhow, I want one of these plants in my own yard for no other reason than how weird it looks.   Would you think I was a terrible person if I visited the public gardens again and just took starter piece?   Oh, maybe the phallus thing that looks like a stomach too is a seed pod.  Whaddya think?   I could lurk around till the pod opens eeeeuewwww again and pick up some seeds.

If I get picked up by the park rangers, will you come get me?    LOL

August 8, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I looked up purple red large flower with veins and found it. It’s called a Calico Dutchman’s Pipe. Beautiful thing!

    Like

    Comment by Nelson Jewelry & Gemstones | August 8, 2013 | Reply

  2. Here, five seeds on eBay for $1.92 plus shipping: http://compare.ebay.com/like/221181436021?var=lv&ltyp=AllFixedPriceItemTypes&var=sbar.

    And yes, I would think it terrible if you took some of the plants without permission.

    Like

    Comment by Nelson Jewelry & Gemstones | August 8, 2013 | Reply

    • I do not know how this comment got “approved” without my reading it. Just found it today and looked it up today. It is the correct plant and I thank you for looking it up I did go back to the gardens and found one of the ladies who work there. She told me it was a “pipe vine” and that it was tropical, which is what I thought. It would be hard to grow without a greenhouse. They have to dig it up every year and then replant it. She did tell me that there was a native pipe vine growing along the fence but she did not think it would be easy to grow from a vine start. She was correct. The piece I took died. SIGH. I plan on going back next week and see if there are plants with seed pods so I may try again. I really do appreciate the fact that you took the trouble to look that gorgeous plant up.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | September 1, 2013 | Reply

  3. I see you have your answer. Yes, it’s Calico Dutchman’s Pipe (Aristolochia littoralis). It is not difficult to grow. In some areas of the world it is considered an invasive species, and given the right conditions (acid-neutral soils (pH 5.5 – 7.0), average moisture, part sun to shade, elevation up to about 3,770 ft), it can be very hardy and grow very rapidly. During the spring, it’s not unusual for the vines on my plant to grow 18 inches. The flowers are extremely fragrant, especially at dusk. Aristolochia species are quite unusual because many of them are toxic and carcinogenic, yet have been used for millennia in herbal medicines. Read more about Aristolochia at Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aristolochia

    Like

    Comment by Russel Ray Photos | November 25, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

