Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Handmade Heritage


If you have followed my blog, you know how many things I do with my grandkids.  We try a lot of different crafts and I encourage them to make the gifts that they give for holidays.   I am proud of the things that I make and I want them to take pride in what they do also.

My grandson Justin, who we affectionately call Jaybird had a birthday last week.   I found a potholder loom kit at JoAnn’s Fabric and bought that and an extra package of loops for his gift.   I thought that it would be an easy craft to learn.   I had fond childhood memories of making potholders with my sister and hiking up and down the country road where we lived and selling them to neighbors.    I know he loves to make things and is a good little crafter so I had hopes that he would like this kit.  How many of you can remember making potholders or some other craft when you were a kid and going around the neighborhood to sell your creations?

Yesterday, he spent the day with me.   He brought his loom and loops.   He had figured out how to weave the loops through but didn’t know how to get the pot holder off the loom.   I showed him that.  Then I showed him 3 different patterns to make.   He was so cute and so excited about his potholders!  He kept going back and picking up the loom and made 4 different potholders in all.   Before he went home, I took a picture of him and his 4 styles and put it up on Facebook.  One of my friends happened to be online and commented under the picture that she wanted 2.   He got so excited that he already had an order!

Jay with his 4 styles of potholders

Jay with his 4 styles of potholders

 

Later last night, I got on Facebook again and Jay’s mom had posted this picture as her status saying it must be exhausting to run your own business!

 

our little businessman

our little businessman

 

We got such a kick out of this!   I called him this morning to let him know that he had more orders.   I told him one lady wanted 10 potholders.  Oh wow, was his response!  I said that will be 17.50 and he told me, “Mimi”, I will be SWIMMING in money!!!

My daughter and I were talking about his enthusiasm this morning and we have decided that each of the small boys will get different kits for their birthdays and they can all “sell” their products.   All 3 have birthdays within an month of each other.   This simple birthday gift has turned into a wonderful opportunity to learn not only the sense of accomplishment of making your own gifts, but math and business skills that they would not learn until they were much older.

Well, I am off to Jo ann’s to buy more loops for the potholder king.

 

July 27, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Wait, only $1.75 per potholder? How long does it take to make one potholder?

    Like

    Comment by joannenelson940842863 | July 27, 2013 | Reply

    • It takes him about 20 minutes to do one, maybe less. These are the first he has made so it takes a while. He did figure out some shortcuts all by himself. The loops cost 5.99 a bag and he can make six potholders from that bag. We usually have a 40% off coupon which takes the cost down. He will end up making about 75 to 80 cents clear profit. He is happy and that is worth so much more.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | July 28, 2013 | Reply

  2. I LOVE that kid!!! This is an awesome idea and he will learn a lot! 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Dawn | July 27, 2013 | Reply

    • here is the latest news………his dad told me that he and his brother had a disagreement about something and Jaybird FIRED him! LOL

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | July 28, 2013 | Reply

  3. good operational ability ,he must be very proud!!

    Like

    Comment by angelaserena | August 1, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

