Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

AWOL


Hello!   I wonder if anyone missed me.   I’ve been AWOL for 3 months.  What a crappy way to start the New Year!   Somehow, I hurt my back and had 3 discs out of place plus sciatic nerve problems and also sacroiliac problems.   Man, it has taken 3 months of doctor visits and spinal injections just to get me to a point where I can sit up for any length of time and to be able to walk around the house. 

I do not ever e3ant to go through all that again.    The pain alone was unbelievable!  Without my kids and grandkids I could never have survived.   My daughter in law came every day to make sure I had something for lunch, to do dishes and sweep the floor.   What a hassle for her!!!   Someone had to get my groceries and put them away.  someone had to haul me to any number of doctors and pick up my prescroptions.  Someone had to take out the trash.   Someone had to stay with me at night and I know I kept them awake because I would take the pills and wake up screaming 3 hours later with muscle spasms.   

The sordid details are best left unsaid.   I won’t bore anyone with all the hassles of being bedridden.   I could not sit at the computer.  All I could do, it seems, is lay on the couch and watch movies.   Thanks to all who loaned me complete seasons of shows to entertain me.   When I wasn’t watching movies, I ws watching the clock to see if it was time yet for another pain pill.   Boring, boring, boring. 

Anyhow, I am better now.  I can sleep through the night.   I can walk without a walker and I can sit up really well.   I am so glad to be able to cook my food and to wash my own dishes!!!!   Simple things like that are a joy.    I’ll soon be visiting blogs again and saying hello.

April 2, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. So sorry to hear you have been in such difficulty, Lee… but pleased you are on the mend. I’m sending you positive thoughts!

    Like

    Comment by Monique U | April 2, 2013 | Reply

  2. Glad you’re back and feeling better.

    Like

    Comment by Russel Ray Photos | April 9, 2013 | Reply

  3. So glad to hear you are better. I have been talking your jewelry up, I may have to get some more samples to show.

    Like

    Comment by Dee | April 15, 2013 | Reply

    • LOL….. I drove past Tim Horton’s on Needmore yesterday and it made me think of you. I can drive and I feel way better than those 2 months on the couch. I need to get that green thing to you. I could put some more jewelry together. We still need a trip to that place in Fairborn also. What do you think I should get together for you to take around? I think mostly necklaces sold last time, right? I’d like to get together before I run out of money, LOL…………I can’t draw unemployment, can’t work and my emergency stash is getting lower and lower. My stinking pills cost 159 a bottle. Ouch!!! I need to sell some stuff.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | April 16, 2013 | Reply

  4. Thinking of you and hope you’re back on your feet soon!

    Like

    Comment by Cindy | April 16, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

