Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Sci Fi blog hop


I am such an avid reader and absolutely love sci fi and fantasy books.  Often, I become so immersed in a trilogy that my creative side  looks to the characters in a book or to the landscape.   When the gals at Crazy Creative Corner announced the Sci Fi Blog Hop, I was so excited to enter this blog hop and see how others are inspired by what they read.

If a series is good I become  involved and identif y with one or more characters.   Last summer, I decieded I wanted to read George RR Martin’s   Game of Thrones.  I had never seen the TV series.   From the first paragraph, I was hooked.   Martin has created such a colorful world complete with “houses”, sections of lands held by lords and all subject to the high king’s rule.  

He has at least 10 or more characters for each house, a history of that youse and the interactions with other houses.   Above all is the Wall, in the northernmost part of the kingdom.  The Wall is manned by men who guard against the fearsome  inhabitants of the wilds.   The whole of the kingdom is a harsh life.   The seasons last for years.   Summer, instead of lasting a few months, lingers for years.  Winter is the same.

I quickly aligned myself with House Stark, ruled by Lord Eddard, a rugged man loyal, proud and righteous.  The motto of house Stark is    Winter is coming.  

When I had finished reading the books, I watched the first season.   There were only two or three times that I saw anyone wearing jewlry.    They spent very little time at court or at galas.  So, I had to create something very simple to mirror their lifestyles.

I made, for Lady Stark, a lanyard.   It’s a simple design.  These opalescent beads reminded me of ice on twigs and trees in the coldest of winters.   Two brassy pods hold buds. 

Ice Flowers necklace

Ice Flowers necklace

Of course, I wasn’t content with doing one piece.   The other most prominent house, House Lannister had to be represented also.   If not, heads might roll for a Lannister would never accept a slight like that..   Lannisters are not easy to like.   The world is full of violence (even aainst their own)  plots, schemes and incest.  

I designed this piece for Circe Lannister, though Lannister colors are red and gold, I wanted to use this silver focdal.   Fine silver, dichroic glass, chain and glass facted beads.  

047

051

Im, still inspired and am now working on a piece for the lone surviro of the dragonlords house.   Why not check out my felloe jewelry makers and readers and see what inspires them/

Melissa Trudinger – http://beadrecipes.wordpress.com/

Debbie Rasmussen – http://kepirasmussen.blogspot.com/

Lee Koopman – https://stregajewellry.wordpress.com/

Lennis C – (Lennis, I sent you an email, please let me know your blog site?)
Zoe Marcin – http://beadsteaandsweets.blogspot.com/

Skye – http://skyescreativechaos.blogspot.ca/

January 31, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. I do quite enjoy the Sci Fi genre and even though I haven’t read nor watched Game of Thrones, It’s been on my list! 🙂
    I love both pieces you created! I’m sure when I read the books I’ll understand the pieces in their entirety.

    Beautiful job ^.^

    Like

    Comment by Kayla @ TEEJewelry | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  2. Can you please delete me from the list for this blog hop? I hurt my back and am laid up in bed. I did tell Pam I couldn’t participate.

    Like

    Comment by windbent | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  3. correction – Denielle Hagerman – http://www.somebeadsandotherthings.blogspot.ca/

    Like

    Comment by Sandra aka Skye | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  4. You are certainly an avid Sci-fi lover, and your creations reflect that. I can actually visualize the characters through your inspirations.

    Like

    Comment by Marlene C | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  5. Ooh, I love that first piece. So simple but elegant! I would wear this piece often.

    Like

    Comment by Denielle | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  6. Wow, I love finding a fellow reader who gets as lost in the lives and imagery of a story as I do. And, what a wonderful job. I’ve never read the series, but I can almost see through your summary and jewelry what they might be like. Wonderful job.

    Like

    Comment by Pam (the Crazier Sister) | January 31, 2013 | Reply

  7. Simply Beautiful. ❤

    Like

    Comment by susanbowie | February 1, 2013 | Reply

  8. Oh, definitely fitting choices for the Starks and the Lannisters. I’ll look forward to seeing what you can do for the last of the dragonlords!

    Like

    Comment by mtrudinger | February 3, 2013 | Reply

  9. I’ve recently switched my food blog over to be self-hosted which I hope will make it more user-friendly in the future. As a result, if you were following Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen via email, WordPress, or using RSS feeds through Google Reader or some other way, you are no longer subscribed. If you wish to continue receiving future posts from my blog you will need to re-subscribe. Sorry for the inconvenience, Teresa.

    Like

    Comment by Teresa | March 3, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

