Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Toast of Town Variations Blog Hop


It’s reveal day for the Toast of the Town Variations blog hop.   In case you missed my previous post, our challenge was to make a necklace from Erin Prais Hinz’s design, her Toast of the Town Necklace featured on Micheal’s project pages. Erin is an awesome designer.  You should check out her Etsy shop.   Three of us won some strands of beads to use as our base for the project.  All the bead sets were different so we could show the versatility of the design.

These are the beads I won.

Micheal’s Craft Store just happened to have beads on sale for 50%. off so I went with good intention of buying only beads to match the ones I won.   HAH!   Did that work out?   NO.  This is the pile I brought home.  Not a match in sight.

bead pile

Now, I had to dig into my “stash”.   No problem except one.   I found beads to match all right but I was stumped. Did you see those beads with the little flowers????   

That Erin always makes me step outside my comfort zone and she does not let me just stick a foot outside the zone, I have to walk around out there and relax while I”m doing it.

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m not a flower kinda girl.   I love metals and industrial type jewelry, steampunkery and big, bold pieces.   Flowers are sort of girly girl for me and I almost panicked!

Arrrghhhhh!  Erin, what have you done to me?  I had planned to use some chains in my design but chains and flowers?

I do my best thinking just before I fall asleep for some reason.   I asked myself what scared me about flowers?   What did I think about flowery beads?

Well, they are romantic.   There isn’t a lot of room in my life for romance at this point in time, in fact, I’m fairly cynical about romance.

They are playful and fun.   HEY!  I’m playful and fun.   I’ve a sharp wit,…..well….sometimes a bit on the cutting edge if you want the truth.  The playfullness of flowers is more childlike to me I guess.   Wait a minute, ………..let me turn loose my inner child.

So that hoyden came out.

I was never the kind of little girl who played with dolls and made flower necklaces so I could be that fairy princess.  I stomped through mud puddles. I wrecked my tricycle trying to race with the big kids on their two wheelers.   I climbed trees and rode a pony bareback and raced bikes like a boy.      I hiked and hunted and fished.  I talked my boy cousin into “borrowing” a neighbor’s boat to pole accross Doc Winney’s lake.  Doc hadn’t been there in over 3 years!  Somebody had to test drive that boat and make sure it didn’t leak!   We bullied our baby sisters into going with us so they could not rat us out.  He dropped the pole in the middle of the lake and we had to use our bare hands to paddle back, little girls squalling all the way.   Once, when our dog was missing, I waded alone through 2 foot snowdrifts ‘way up on the mountain, armed with my cousin’s BB gun, just daring a bear or a bocat to show its face!   Hmmmm….not a very girly girl flower child.

I decided to sleep on it and let my inner child come out and play with these beads.   She decided that the romantic flowers were okay  because somewhere there was a guy who would appreciate her independent and fearless spirit.  She chose metal hearts (not easily broken) to go with those girly flowers and she added some sparkly black beads (black doesn’t show dirt when you are a tomboy child) because the sparkles reflected that cutting edge sense of humor, and she added some cute little bows (bows WILL tie back that unruly hair).

This is the necklace I came up with.   I call it Inner Child.  (sorry for the dark pix but it is gloomy and overcast here and I can’t seem to get any decent light).

bead strands for Inner Child

Inner Child Necklace

As a side note:   I had planned for that world famous “super model”, Crabby Patti, to wear my necklace in these photos.  When we tried to have a photo shoot, however, Crabby Patti got one of her famous ‘tudes and flat out refused to wear any beads.   Now you know how she got her name.

Crabby Patti with a ‘tude

Well, I’m off to see what the other gals made.   I hope you’ll follow along with me to the other blogs.   Check out Erin’s blog, Treasures Found for the complete list.

The two other winners were

Tanya, from A Work in Progress

And Elisabeth from Beads for Busy Gals

November 2, 2012 - Posted by | fashion, Jewelry | , , , , ,

17 Comments »

  1. Wow – I love it! I loved your process of how you worked those flower beads in that Erin sent you. I also loved your story of you as a wild child 🙂 Way to think of something different to create! Wonderful necklace!

    Like

    Comment by Beth | November 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Sometimes, things just come to me while I lie in bed at night. If I can’t sleep, I mentally string beads until I doze off. My famous go to sleep trick.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | November 2, 2012 | Reply

  2. First of all, Crabby Patti (who happens to spell her first name just like me!) is adorable! That said, I love how you made this design your own! This really works well! Love it twisted as a choker! And like you, I cannot walk into a store and buy just what is on my list -NEVER! Love your finds!

    Like

    Comment by Patti Vanderbloemen | November 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Patti, our little crab person is really named Lillie. She got the Crabby Patti name from her brother’s fascination with Sponge Bob’s crabby patties and her famous attitudes. LOL. I am glad to hear that I am not the only one who comes out of a store with way more than they planned! I suspected there were others out there. No, I do not want to start a support group! LOL

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | November 2, 2012 | Reply

  3. Oh Miss Lee! That is the best set up story ever! I really do love those litle flowers because the black gives them an edge. I am not a hearts amd flower girl either. I am happy that you rose to the challenge. See? I only do good 😉 Enjoy the day. Erin

    Like

    Comment by Erin Prais-Hintz | November 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Erin, I never doubt that you only intend to do good! LOL! Well, maybe for a moment. Glad my set up story was fun for you!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | November 2, 2012 | Reply

  4. Loved this and how you revealed so much of yourself. Inner child? Yup, got one of those, too. Love to dance to rock music. Sends my children SCREAMING from the room. So great how you dove in and made those beads work – and aren’t them bows SO CUTE! (now, don’t cringe). I was that tomboy right along with you – stopped wearing dresses when I was six and never went back. Thanks for sharing – love your post.
    Sue

    Like

    Comment by Susan Bahr | November 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Kindred souls, Susan…….I knew we had lots in common.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | November 2, 2012 | Reply

  5. Your necklace is stunning. I love the flowers on the black beads and the beads you added work so well with them. The ribbon is absolutely perfect and lends just the right touch!

    Like

    Comment by Tanya Goodwin | November 2, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks, Tanya. I really like the little bows also. They seemed to fit those tiny rings perfectly, but what a CHORE, trying to get them all just the same size!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | November 2, 2012 | Reply

  6. Love the ribbon details – the red details really make this necklace shine!

    Like

    Comment by Elisabeth | November 2, 2012 | Reply

  7. Love your design and the addition of the ribbons very cool! I almost did a red necklace too, I might have to revisit it after seeing your gorgeous creation!

    Like

    Comment by Penny Neville | November 2, 2012 | Reply

  8. Love this!! And even if she wouldn’t pose, she’s adorable!

    Like

    Comment by Mallory | November 2, 2012 | Reply

  9. LOL – your necklace is beautiful and I like how you ‘un-girled’ the flowers (hey, I’m not a girly-girl either, but those beads were really cute). However, I am still laughing out loud about your little super-model – she’s the prettiest girl and her ‘tude pose is adorable!

    Like

    Comment by Alicia | November 3, 2012 | Reply

  10. Lee, this is such a wonderful post! I think that we are kindred spirits 🙂 Your creation is wonderful and so is Crabby Patti 🙂
    Brightest blessings,
    Holly

    Like

    Comment by Holly | November 3, 2012 | Reply

  11. I love what you did with this palette. This was my favorite palette of the 3 she had up. I tried to go with it, but my Michael’s didn’t have all the beads so I had to add others. Yours turned out great. My post is up if you’d like to check it out. http://kayzkreationz.blogspot.com/2012/11/toast-of-town-michaels-blog-hop.html

    Like

    Comment by Kay | November 6, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

