Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Eclectica


Last week, I said I was taking some “downtime” from making jewelry.   Did you believe me?   Well, I was serious at the time I wrote it, BUT, ya know, I just can’t stay away from those pliers and wire and beads!   It’s an addiction, people!

Anyhow, I did stay away from SERIOUS design and mostly played around.

I learned to do a wrap bracelet, something I thought was going to be simple enough to teach the little boys.   I made four…….this is my favorite.  It’s not as easy as it looks.  Wrapping the beads is just like braiding BUT, getting the beads to stay on top of the design?   Not so easy.

heart beads wrap bracelet

but, I like this purple one also

I played around with polymer clay and made some little squirrels and birds and a couple of buttons.  They aren’t cooked or painted yet, but the shapes look right.   This is not as easy as it looks.   I sure had some lumpy looking things that were “almost squirrels and birds”.

uncooked, unpainted polymer animals and buttons

I got some Halloween beads and made

these silly little mummy earrings

silly little mummy earrings

these little happy ghost earrings

happy ghost earrings

I fell in love with these skulls in top hats for the Day of the Dead and made

these skull earrings

skulls in top hats

these skull necklaces,

3 for my 3 favorite guys and some to sell in my shop

Day of the Dead skull necklace

I got all these listed in my shop this morning.

I found out I don’t have a link to my shop on this blog.  WTH?   I have some serious organization issues, I guess.  More work and less playing around?    Hmmmmm

Anyhow, my goal for the morning was to get a link to my Artfire shop on the blog sidebar.   I think it is there.   If not……….I need some serious tutoring.

And, last but not least………TA DAHHHHH!!!!!

My blog got nominated for the Reader Appreciation award by Sue.  Check out her blog!  Sue is a way cool lady!

I’m truly honored!  Thank you, my friend.

Now, in order to accept this award, I have to tell you some “secret” things about me and I have to nominate 3 other bloggers for the same award.

Some things about me:

1.  I am a bead junkie

2.  I love Halloween and weirdness

3.  skeletons are my favorite of the Halloween things.  I used to have an inflatable skellie I called Mr. Bones, who rode around in my car with me the whole month of October but  a dog ate him and he was so old he died.   I haven’t found a replacement.

4.  I love to be outside in the wind.

5.  I never read trilogies or fantasys that are written in more than one part until the whole series is finished because I have no patience for waiting.

6.  I just lied to you because I started reading A Song of Fire and Ice, thinking that because it was now a television series (A Game of Thrones), it was done, got down to the last book and found out I have to wait for yet ANOTHER BOOK, AND that one may not be the end of it!   ARRRRRR

7.   Patience is NOT my virtue!!!!

And Three Other Bloggers whose work I appreciate

mamaraby:   Under the Maple Canopy

Patrick Latter:   My gosh, there are gorgeous photos (and some funny ones too) from hiking in the Canadian wilderness.

and Big Rich from Steampunkapotamus (I hope I got that spelled right, never mind, the link will work) who has lots of fun steampunk stuff going on.

What a fun week!

September 15, 2012 - Posted by | Jewelry, Kid Stuff, New Age | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Loved the mummy earrings – glad you put a link up to your store. Can’t wait to check it out. glad you shared…

    Like

    Comment by susanbahr | September 16, 2012 | Reply

  2. Reblogged this on STEAMPUNKAPOTAMUS.

    Like

    Comment by BIG RICH | September 17, 2012 | Reply

  3. Great pieces! I love the skellie with the top hat ~ charming!

    Like

    Comment by rose | September 18, 2012 | Reply

  4. Love them! Thanks so much for the nomination, it was very kind of you. :0)

    Like

    Comment by mamaraby | September 21, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

