Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Wing & A Prayer Steampunk Style


A while back, I did a blog about a jewelry piece I was working on that I called a Wing and a Prayer.  I loved the piece when it was finished and wanted to do one with a steampunk theme.

I took the same bird picture, added some steampunk gears and parts and put them in a heart shaped bezel. I put an aviator helmet on the bird and gave him a metal beak made from a watch part.

Loved the bird, with his metal beak and aviator helmet.   This has to have an aviator’s prayer in the channel bead.  I figured that before I made the actual piece, I should write the prayer.  That would give me a better idea of how the beads should go into the piece.

Our Lady of Gears

Bless the parts of this machine

Bless the hands that fix these parts

and the hands that fly her in Joy

Please bring us safely home.

Well, that being done, I needed a Lady of Gears to go on my channel bead………it was the only thing that made perfect sense.   I had thought to put a diagram/blueprint of a biplane, but changed my mind after I wrote the prayer.

So, I created the Lady of Gears, using a picture of a black robed woman and another picture of some gears, overlaying one and making it transparent.   I love her!    She’s perfect for the bead.

Too many beads are not good, this is a piece that needs gears and metal.  Hmmmm…..got to use wire wrap beads and chain and maybe some little linky links I have……..I thought I needed some color too, maybe blue for the sky so I tried some blue agates I have………well, blue does not necessarily go with the pinkish bird photo, darn it.  So, I stuck to metal with just one brushed copper bead.

Here is the finished piece.

The day after I finished this, a friend sent me a link to one of the most awesome videos I’ve ever seen.   Please take time to watch it, especially if you love birds.   It’s about an eagle who had her beak shot off and some amazing people who helped her to survive.   These people got a special mention in my prayers.   They are incredible!   This brought tears to my eyes!  this is a dream of how the world should truly be, with people using their god given talents to help each other and to help the creatures that share this world instead of helping themselves to more and more material goods.

Seeing the bird they helped made me immediately think of my aviator bird and his metal beak.  and my piece meant so much more to me.

Beauty and The Beak

August 4, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Reblogged this on STEAMPUNKAPOTAMUS and commented:
    Reblogged

    Like

    Comment by BIG RICH | August 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Wow! I’ve never been reblogged before! Thanks Big Rich. I visited your blog and loved it! I’ll be back!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | August 5, 2012 | Reply

  2. This is a cool piece!

    Like

    Comment by Paula N. | August 4, 2012 | Reply

  3. What a great post! I had to Google “steampunk” since I had never heard it before.

    Like

    Comment by Russel Ray Photos | August 5, 2012 | Reply

    • Russell, I can just see you photographing a steampunk convention. You would have a blast!!! And take some great photos!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | August 6, 2012 | Reply

      • I’m going to keep an eye out for any steampunk stuff happening in San Diego!

        Like

        Comment by Russel Ray Photos | August 6, 2012


Leave a Reply

