Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Cuff Love


I’ve fallen in love with cuff bracelets!   I love wearing them and I love making them!

I got a good deal on some steel cuffs but they were all silvertone  which was way to tame for me.   I only made two in the silver tone and they sold really quick.   I spray coated the others with a cream color matte and then used a sponge and some Folk Art paint so they have a really cool pattern.  I used about 3 colors per bracelet then accented that coat with Gilder’s Paste and finally covered all of that with a clear matte finish.

Next:   decide what to add to them to make each one unique.

Buttons were a really easy choice.  They look simple enough, but make a striking emphasis to the paint.

lime and teal cuff

pink and purple cuff

This cuff with a resin flower looked a bit plain till I added the ribbon for a really feminine touch.

cuff with a flower

I love this cameo bracelet.  I glued on filagree in silver tones which gives it a steampunish look and added the ribbon for a girly girl attitude.

cameo cuff

I love this one.  I call it the Frog Prince!   I used a bezel and put a photo of lily pads inside then filled it with resin and this little frog charm.  He’s so darn cute!

Frog Prince Cuff

This one has copper filagree and dichroic glass.

The Red Queen bracelet is perfect for anyone who loves Alice in Wonderland.  The deep purples and red in the bracelet really accent the colors in her picture.   I used gold tone brass filagree to frame the bezel and softened the look with burguney and purple ribbons.   Girly!

Red Queen Cuff

This last one is for me to wear to the Reggae festival.   It’s my Irie/peace/rasta cuff with the Reggae peace symbol.  It will go perfect with my outfit which is a brown skirt and brown blouse with purple and orange designs.   I used soft suede to wrap round the cuff after I punched holes all around.  I’ve still got to add beads and charms to the suede ends.

 

 

It’s been fun.     If you like making cuffs too, maybe you’ll get some inspiration from mine and make some of your own.   If you want to buy any of these, you can find them in my Artfire store. 

 

June 10, 2012 - Posted by | fashion, Jewelry, steampunk | , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Like the cuffs with the buttons!!

    Like

    Comment by Dawn Ball | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  2. Very pretty! I love how individualized these are. The possibilities are endless!

    Like

    Comment by lazyhippiemama | June 13, 2012 | Reply

    • LOL……..I have visions of myself, surrounded by PILES of cuffs if I don’t stop making them! But my little ADHD brain will find a new love soon. I feel one coming on.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | June 13, 2012 | Reply

  3. These are so fun! I love the cameo one!

    Like

    Comment by MegansBeadedDesigns | June 26, 2012 | Reply

  4. Very beautiful and exquisite pieces.I love the collection.

    Like

    Comment by Jewelry designed by elan | August 28, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

