Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

To Market, To Market


Shiloh Farmers Market is a summer outdoor market in Dayton. Josh, my grandson, wanted to do some shows this summer but I thought that we might get our feet wet in the show business by doing this little market. They have never had any vendors other than food vendors so we are an experiment.

What a job getting ready! I had done a market once before but all my display items were unsuitable so we had to buy a canpoy, display items, table covers, come up with signage and on and on. I got some simple bags and made promotional packs to pass out for the first market to introduce outselves. I put in our business cards with our FB pages and the Artfire store address, a 15% off coupon for first time buyers, a sample of Josh’s bath salts, enough for one bath, and a package ornament from my shop. Wow! Did they ever go over big! Lots of people used the coupon at the first market.

Here are some shots of our setup and some of the other vendor’s wares.

Josh’s soap table

Of course, Josh waited till the last minute to label the scents on the soaps….good thing I brought pens!

plants

The booths on either side of us have plants…….hanging plants, garden plants, fressh asparagus, fresh lettuce and cut flowers!

toffee bars and other yummy goodies

These toffee bars from Miller’s Home Bakery are my new drug of choice!

elepant ears

these gigantic “elephant ear” cookies are a favorite of my younger grandsons

some of my things

I put a lot of things in baskets to make setup and takedown easier.  These are little girl’s necklaces from memory wire and memory wire bracelets for adults.  Man, are those popular!

cuff bracelets and “crazy rings”

This glove was perfect for showing off crazy rings and cuff bracelets.  The dog liked it too!   She ate it and scattered my stuff all over the yard after I went to work that afternoon.  Thank the Lady I had another one!  I was HOT!

charm bracelets and nicer earrings on the rack

And THIS is the most precious thing!   This is my great grand child, Lilly who loves the Farmer’s Market!   At the second market she remembered where the cookies were and marched right over there and pointed so someone had to buy her cookies!  And she got flowers from Cook’s Farm which she just loved!   The vendors are so darn nice!   It’s a great place!   If you’re in Dayton, Ohio on a Saturday morning, stop by there and say hello.  You won’t go away empty handed!

“Lillo” and her flowers!

May 28, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I’m moving to Dayton this summer. I’ll have to check this out. Thanks for this post!

    Like

    Comment by JaytotheTee | May 28, 2012 | Reply

    • I think you will love this market! I didn’t include all the vendors…….there are fresh eggs, home canned goods, all healthy food from local farms. I love it! I should have posted a link to their website. If you look up Shiloh Farmer’s Market in Dayton, you’ll see a page that lists all vendors and has great photos.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | May 28, 2012 | Reply

      • thank you, i’ll look into it! i really appreciate the info.

        Like

        Comment by JaytotheTee | May 28, 2012

  2. Glad this went so well for you and your Grandson. Cool that you could do this together! And your little granddaughter is totally adorable!

    Like

    Comment by Linda Landig | May 28, 2012 | Reply

  3. All the different colors of soap look amazing! He set up a great table!

    Like

    Comment by girl about town dayton | June 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

