Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Something Wiccan This Way Comes


I have been a pagan for over thirty years, a solitary Wiccan. My spirituality was and is very important to me. I began the journey and along the way, I explored other cultures and lore, including my own Native American roots, and they became in integral part of my belief system, who I am and how I live. For all those years, I was one of the happiest people I knew.

We never had much money and at times, were downright poor, but that is not my measure of what makes a person happy. Through broken relationships, betrayals, my oldest son’s accident and subsequent disability and the ordinary struggles to stay alive, I maintained a strong faith in God and Goddess and a very personal relationship with Her. I lived what I believed and walked my talk.

Then came the Tower, out of the Tarot of Life, the sudden change and upheaval that rocks your whole world and challenges you to examine the very roots of what you believe, that dreaded awful thing that can dissolve the very glue that holds your world together. Our whole family and circle of friends was changed by this and my own personal beliefs were challenged.

After months of struggle to find my way back to a “normal” life, I took a class in wire wrapping and learned to make jewelry. It was perfect for me. I had always carried stones around in my pocket and kept rocks and pebbles in all corners of the house. I began a long journey back from the wilderness of loss and pain. I loved the pieces I crafted and began to sell at local markets and shows.

I learned all I could about the meanings behind the stones, what they were used for by ancient cultures and how each had a unique vibration that could “help” its owner in different ways. It seemed that though I created beautiful pieces most of the sales were the same commercial look. People seemed to want things that looked like other people’s things. Wire work began to become a chore and les and less fun as I worked each week to come up with commercial pieces that would sell so I could continue to do this thing that I had grown to love.

One night ( I seem to always get my best ideas at night), the moon was down and I was meditating on what to do about my art and how I could become a better artist. I spread out all my stones and laid my dilemma at the Lady’s feet. I told her that I wanted to do something that would reflect my pagan/Wiccan spirituality and something that would be beautiful and different. I made my mind quiet and simply pushed stones from one spot to another. I tried different combinations just to see what would look right together. Then I noticed that one set of stones looked like a little lady.

I wondered aloud what her name would be and who she was. I focused on the energy of the stones and what vibrations would come from them if they were wrapped together then worn as a lady. Her name jumped into my mind and I realized that she was an aspect of the Goddess. I found a notebook and began to jot down my thoughts. Faster and faster they came and soon there were three little ladies ready to be wrapped and worn……Grandmother Grass Singing, The Midnight Watcher, and the Mother of Sighs. Each had her own energy. Each had her own reason for being. Only when the moon was waxing did I wrap them. They were marvelous! Their energy was palpable! I called them my First Ladies and looked forward to the waning moon when I could find more stones for more ladies.

As I worked with them, I realized that we all see The Mother in different ways at different times. She has many guises other than Maiden, Mother and Crone. Some see Her as angels, some as fairies or sprites, some do not realize what they are seeing or what energy and love they are drawing upon to give them peace in this world. I saw that She was teaching me as I worked.

Once upon a time, we all knew the Lady. Then the patriarchal religions took over and the emphasis was on one aspect of the God. People forgot that there must be balance, that one without the other is only half of the story, only half of the peace or maybe no peace at all. I saw that maybe my little ladies could bring a message out into the world, a small part of the Mother’s love and caring. I began to look for specific stones with their own vibrations and messages. I took time with them each waning moon and almost, out of the corner of my eye, I could see little ladies peeping through the tree branches or dancing along the river banks. I felt closer and closer to the Mother. As I did this, my spirit began to heal and my journey outward began anew.

Perhaps you, too, are in need of Her healing. I offer these little ladies to you. You will feel their fresh and vibrant energy when you hold or wear one of them. They are ready to travel and they know who is waiting for them.

I have listed some of my ladies in my shop and now, I would like to introduce them here, one by one.

I lay my work at the Lady’s feet.

The Mother of Sighs is one of my favorite ladies.

Mother of Sighs

Some days are filled with despair, depression, anxiety, grief, and loss. I have had many of these. I wanted to make a representation of a Lady who would provide comfort and support, who understood these feelings. I got out my stones and arranged them until I found soothing colors with calming yet uplifting vibrations. When I saw what she would look like in my mind’s eye, before I even crafted her, the right name came to me. She would be The Mother of Sighs. Maybe that came from my fascination with the old Robin Trower song, the Bridge of Sighs. I thought about that name a lot when I was grieving for my son. I could almost picture myself crossing that bridge, head bowed with pain and sorrow. What would the Lady be like who met me on that bridge and took my hand to help me cross?

My little Mother is crafted from violet dichroic glass and blue lace agate. .. The iridescence of the dichroic sparkles through the mists of the violet colors which compliment the colors of purple in the blue lace agate.

We all suffer loss as we go through life. Loss of any kind can cause us to become mired in depression, unable to see all the beauty in the world. Depression, in it’s own turn can cause us anxiety. We become uncertain and afraid of suffering more loss. We feel out of control. Blue lace agate is a beautiful stone that has a wonderful calming effect on the mind. It works almost like a detergent, washing away mental clutter. Blue lace provides encouragement and support to us.

How I see her in my mind’s eye:

She would not be wearing fine clothes nor elegant jewelry. These are not the things that matter to Her. Her hair is not carefully coiffed and styled. It is pulled back in a simple style and wisps of it escape and blow in the keening winds that sweep across the Bridge of Sighs. She spends most of Her time out of doors because her connection to Earth and animals is deep. From the soil and the love of creatures She draws great strength. Her face is thin and lines of pain are deeply etched into her cheeks. She understands great pain and loss. Her dark eyes are mirrors for your own sorrows, yet behind the pain you see a glint of laughter for She knows that all trials will pass and joy will come again to you. You must look past the outer lines and the sorrows in Her eyes and you will see great inner beauty and peace and there you will find support and courage and compassion.

At first, I was only going to make one of each lady.  But this little mother was a special one.   We all experience loss and pain at one time or another.  Someone is always in need of her energy.   The Mother of Sighs, who was was one my first ladies, is and always will be

Dedicated to Ben:  Born 1979…………..killed on Mother’s Day, 1997.  Seventeen years was not enough.

May 2, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

12 Comments »

  1. Beautiful work! You are truly blessed with talent.

    Like

    Comment by Lisa Hackney | May 6, 2012 | Reply

  2. this is a beautiful piece of jewlery! i hope i win the contest on laura deluca’s site. i love the meaning behind the mother of sighs! loved reading through your blog and looking at all the lovely pieces! thanks for the opportunity!

    mary woollard

    Like

    Comment by mary woollard | May 6, 2012 | Reply

  3. I find your blog both lovely and interesting.I am an Aries and we share much the same heritage. I used to own a gem and mineral shop in Tucson AZ. I also made and sold jewelry.

    Like

    Comment by Susan Franklin | May 7, 2012 | Reply

  4. I love your jewelry – it is so Earth connected – it pulls at me amnd I love it.

    Like

    Comment by clenna1 | May 7, 2012 | Reply

  5. Very touching, and beautifully put. This is a gorgeous piece.

    Like

    Comment by Karen Fields | May 7, 2012 | Reply

  6. Beautiful…both the piece itself and the inspiration!

    Like

    Comment by Heather! | May 8, 2012 | Reply

  7. Beautiful pieces, I would be proud to own any – The Mother of Sighs is particularly beautiful! I’m separated from my Grandkids right now & it hurts, seems like I do ALOT of “sighing”. Thanks for providing the piece for the giveaway!

    Like

    Comment by 1955nurse | May 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Many thanks to all who have taken the time to read this post through and leave comments. This little ‘Mother’ means a lot to me and I wanted to share her story.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | May 10, 2012 | Reply

  8. Your pieces are truly beautiful!

    Like

    Comment by Danna Gregory | May 12, 2012 | Reply

  9. what a post!! that’s heart touching, I really love it, the author is very genius!!

    Like

    Comment by Mairaj Pirzada | May 20, 2012 | Reply

  10. wow i would love to win some of this so beatiful

    Like

    Comment by nichole dunmire | May 25, 2012 | Reply

  11. […] Something Wiccan this way Comes […]

    Like

    Pingback by 2012 Recap « Strega Jewellry's Blog | December 14, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

