Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Colors Talk Part III


If you have been following Colors Talk, you know I have been intrigued by the emotional impact of colors.  I’ve looked at many other Artfire shops to see what messges they sent through their choice of banner and avatar.   I’ve used Pantone’s Guide to Communicating with Color as my standard.   Now, I’m going to pick apart my own avatar and banner and try to make some constructive changes.

I originally chose blue for my avatar.  Blue inspires trust  and I wanted viewers to trust and depend on me.   However, I went way too far.   My muted blues are on the gray side.  The woman, portrayed in these muted shades, seems to say she is a lone wolf a solitary (not necessarily a bad thing) but not what I intened.

my first avatar

Colors from Pantone’s “Muted Palette”  are similar to the Naturals Palette but they are low-key, maybe too low-key to invite interest.   My woman may appear aloof or too mystical for the average person, too serene and self centered.

I have to decide what I want my avatar to say about me?   Of course, I want to appear unique (who doesn’t?).   I am a deeply spiritual lady with an earth based religion, stronly connected to the natural world.  Pantone’s “Spiritual Palette” uses purples, the Natural Palette uses browns.  Pantone’s “Unique Palette” gave me some options.

First, I tweaked my lady.

first tweak

Now, she is brighter, more woodsy, with a hint of sunshine.   I think she is more inviting.

Next, I added a burgundy background.

2nd tweak

See how that burgundy blends in with the browns and seems to add a more spiritual quality?   I like it, but not enough.

Next, I beveled the photo so there is a bit of black for drama and there she is!   I really like her much better than the blue lady.   She is warm, inviting, a bit sensual, a bit spiritual.

finished avatar

What do YOU think?   What does she say to you?

Now, we’re going to pick apart my banner.

I used a shot of a finished piece.   I used it because:

1.   It was a good shot

2.  I like the blues (trust and dependability again) and because there was part of a pentagram and a tarot card in the shot which told the knowing viewer than I am Wiccan.

 

So, what’s wrong with it?

1.  It seems to imply that all my jewelry is Wiccan and that’s not true.

2.  The pentagram is a very misunderstood symbol.  To Wiccans, it is a symbol of balance, man’s harmony with nature.  To the uninformed it is a satanic symbol and puts people off.

3.  The jewelry piece is not very colorful and it is very plain.   While blue chalcedony has meaning for me, it is not a stone that is commonly appreciated.   And, again, we have the muted gray blue color.

Three Strikes!   Banner is OUT!

Now what?   What am I about?   What do I want to tell you about myself with color?

I am about experience.   I love to experience life, try new things, new media, new ways of doing old things.   I love tradition and lore, stone lore, history, my religion, my family.   I am an old hippie who loves beads and weird things and believes that “stuff” does not have to be gold, silver or precious stone to be beautiful.   I am inspired by the natural world and by otherworlds, worlds of fairies and dragons, wizards  and far away stars.   Wow!   I can’t get all THAT in a banner!!

Let’s see what I CAN say.

First:   I’m going to start with a photo of a piece of my work.  I chose the Dark Zone pendant because I love its beauty, it’s a good shot and lots of others seem to like it because it’s been featured in lots of collections.

Dark Zone Pendant

Now, I am going to tweak it a bit, make it look a little more dramatic by beveling the edges and adding some black.

 

Dark Zone Tweak

I think that silver lettering will match up just perfectly with the photo and any background I choose.   I’ll tweak that lettering just a little bit to add some edges and refine it.

I’m undecided between a burgundy background and a rich brown.   Burgundy is rich and spiritual, brown is earthy.   I’ll try them both.   You will have to visit my Artfire studio to see what I came up with.   Please leave any comments………..tell me what the colors make you feel.   I want to know if I have succeeded in making some positive change.

.
November 10, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I just visited your AF studio. I love your new banner!!! My only comment is that the font you chose for your shop name is a little hard to read. If I didn’t already know the name of your shop, I might have a hard time deciphering the “t” and the “r”, but that may be just me. Overall, I like it very much!

    Like

    Comment by Linda Landig | November 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thanks Linda. I value your input. I took a closer look at the font and I think you might be right. I may have to remedy that. Tonight, however, I’m going to give it a rest! I’ve redone that blasted banner 13 times, trying to get the lettering to fit correctly into that space!

    Like

    Comment by stregajewellry | November 10, 2011 | Reply

  3. Great job as usual, Lee. I like the banner and the color of the lettering. What program did you use to produce it?

    Like

    Comment by personaloasis (Ginger) | November 11, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Ginger. I always use Microsoft Photodraw. I’ve had it for years and it can do amazing things! I’m so used to it, I can do things in my sleep! I’m almost afraid to try a new program……….LOL

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | November 11, 2011 | Reply

  4. So interesting! I like your new look – and this makes an excellent blog article topic! 🙂

    Like

    Comment by PrettyGonzo (Mary) | November 18, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Mary. I’m really happy with my new look but could not have made such good changes without the things I learned by examining the avatar and banner of others. It took a lot of time, but I am glad I did it.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | November 18, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

