Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Lost Weekend Macro


I spent a fabulous vacation weekend with my friend, Trish Jeffers Zeh at her home/studio, Zeffers Farm Studiio in Waynesville, Ohio. Trish his is a fantastic artist and instructor in metal clay.   It’s not her only medi however.   She works with porcelain, ceramics, wire, sculpture and so many other things!   She is so versatile and creative and inspiring!   We’ve been friends for many years and I’ve known her since she first got started in metal clay, I guess that is about 15 years.   I’d been having trouble with the bronze clay so Trish, the generous and giving sistah that she is says “come down a weekend and let’s just play with clay”.   So I did.

I had my own apartment downstairs:  bedroom, living room complete with tv (which I never had time to turn on), microwave, refrigerator and bath.   Wow!   Her husband, Jim, who is such a great guy, made me feel so welcome and part of the family!   He cooked great meals, put up with our “shop talk” and giggling and cleaned the house.

We worked on clay all weekend and I learned a lot!   I wnt through two packs of bronze clay and two of copper clay.   I was inspired and kept coming up with great ideas and got a chance to experiment all I wanted!   Here is a picture story!   I love the texture of the bronze clay and the beautiful patina you get from the fired pieces.   I love the way it takes textures and how easy it is to work with.   What I don’t like is the process for firing it.  All my pieces did not get fired this weekend but Trish is going to fire them later on.   I am so tired!   But in a good way.

one end of the studio

the "bronze station" in section one

special rubber stamp I used

Trish's clay hair clip before firing

simple earring component before firing

one of my pendants before firing

prolific work in progress

first layer of the first load9 hours later: OMG, what's inside? Did it break, crack or fire perfectly?

sifting out the pieces

first firing....look at the patina! So pretty!

I am way too tired to take a lot of macros of my finished pieces.   That will have to wait for another blog!

Here is a photo of a collage of some of Trish’s work.

Look her up on Facebook   Check out her work!

collage

If you love macro (close up photos), be sure to check out Stuiod Waterstone who hosts a group of macro photographers.  Follow the link.  I realize there is not a lot of macro this week, but I was too excited about my weekend!

studio waterstone

October 30, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. The patina on your pieces looks gorgeous! A very interesting weekend.

    Thank you of revisiting my blog. I was able to gently place my camera only a couple of inches from the little frog and then cropped my photo to have a closer look.

    Like

    Comment by Pieces of Sunshine | October 31, 2011 | Reply

    • I can’t wait to get some up close photos of that patina! I planned to do just that this morning but rain and gloom and darkness……..DRAT! Thanks for stopping by. Your little frog is still making me smile!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | October 31, 2011 | Reply

  2. Looks like you had a wonderful weekend! I have never worked with bronze clay. It looks very pretty. I dont blame you for being excited, I would be too!

    Like

    Comment by Tracey Nanstad | October 31, 2011 | Reply

  3. It surely was a wonderful weekend! I do love working with the bronze. It is more affordable than the silver clay and I feel more freedom to experiment. With the silver clay I feel I have to have a “plan” and stick with it…..no fooling around. Same with the copper clay. Bronze lets me try new things with the same idea or pattern so I can make it two ways and see which I like best. I’m going to show that in my next bronze blog.

    Like

    Comment by stregajewellry | October 31, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

