Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Slime Macro


It’s macro Sunday again.   It’s also close to Halloween, a time of creepy crawly and weird things.   I have some good shots of slime that I shot at the garden center pond that I love.    I got out my “Little Book of Slime” so I could tell you all about water slime.   I KNOW that you are just dying to know these things!

First, the shots:   BTW, it’s REALLY hard to get a slime macro.   Slime is in the water and cameras do not like water.   Inevitably the slime is out of reach and one has to dangle out over the stream or pond while lying on jagged rocks and trying, at the same time to look inconspicuous.   One does not want your average park rambler to think one is weird while lying on the rocky perimeter of a pond, writhing ungracefully toward the edge.   (I hope no one got a shot of that one!)

Two kinds of slime at the pond

bright green surface slime

pond slime

underwater slime

slime thing

According to the “Little Book of Slime”:  slime in water serves useful functions.   Some creatures use the slime to hide from predators.  Some use it to stay alive when rivers and ponds dry up.   Some, like frogs, use it to protect their pecious eggs.

Slime is not a plant nor an animal but a colony of living organisms, each a single ball of jelly-like bacteria.   They are known as cyanobacteria and can only be seen with a powerful mcroscope.  What you see with the naked eye are the long filaments that hold the colony together.   They are oxygen makers and use the energy of the sun to break down the water components (hyrdrogen and oxygen) and produce some of the oxygen we breathe.   Even the humblest of creatures has a purpose.

If you enjoy macro, follow this link to Waterston Studio, where a group of amatueur photographers gather every Sunday to show their up close and personal experiences.

studio waterstone

October 23, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. nice shots, I like the first one…..

    Like

    Comment by Tamara | October 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. Nice shots – and I love how you went about getting this pics 🙂 I just love those greens – fab!

    Like

    Comment by Beth | October 23, 2011 | Reply

  3. That was really interesting to learn! Ain’t nature grand? And these shots remind me of what i said about my enamels this morning! very cool shots

    Like

    Comment by Laura Twiford | October 23, 2011 | Reply

  4. Very interesting information about slime, I had no idea. Very cool and I would have liked to see you shooting these pictures…lol

    Like

    Comment by Tracey Nanstad | October 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. Haha, I like your descriptions and I LOVE the underwater slime…and the top slime. 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Lori | October 23, 2011 | Reply

  6. Thanks to all for looking and NO! There are no pictures of me writhing on the rocks! LOL

    Like

    Comment by stregajewellry | October 24, 2011 | Reply

  7. That reminds me of the cover of Science magazine that my stepson recently had! Love it!

    Like

    Comment by Lori Anderson | October 24, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

