Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Colors Talk


I’ve been reading Pantone’s Guide to Communicating with Color by Leatrice Eiseman.   I was already familiar with color “vibrations” from reading The Language of Clothes and had done a blog about Wearing your “Colors” and a podcast about what clothes to wear for magical energy on my Salem Avenue show.

Pantone’s Guide shows you, in glowing color photos, how to use the emotions that colors evoke by choosing carefully what palettes you use in advertising.  Reading it prompted me to examne my own avatar and banner at my Artfire shop to see if I was “saying” what I wanted to convey.

I thought I would take a look at some guild sister’s blogs to see if what Pantone advised was fairly accurate.   This turned out to be a fairly long blog for me, so grab a cuppa whatever you like and let’s take a look.

I’ll start with Ginger, whose avatar for her shop, Personal Oasis, uses the “Naturals” palette, creamy beiges, tans, leafy greens.    Her banner matches her avatar.

Personal Oasis

The message of the “naturals” palette imples authenticity, serenity, harmony with surroundings.  Words that might come to your mind when looking at the palette are quality, timeless and classic.

And that is exactly what you will find in her shop.  Ginger uses pearls and natural stones.  Take a look at this necklace and see if you agree.

Let’s go next to Blue Tina’s Artfire shop.   The name and the avatar both reflect the images that the color blue evokes:   reliability, dependability, trust, confidence.   Blue is also a restful color.

Blue Tina

Tina uses both brilliant blue (which is different from dark blue or electirc blue or pale blue in emotional response) and contrasts it with white.   The mental images evoked by these colors are:  vibrant, dramatic, energetic, and dynamic.   From this association, you would expect her work to be simple but dramatic, solid and good quality.   Here is one example.   Visit her shop and see if you agree.

Egyptian Fan Necklace

Onward to Entwined Vines.   Tina and Tama have an avatar that is almost totally green, vegetion, growing things, as befits their name.   But their store banner is purple.   Hmmmmm.

Entwined Vines

What does the avatar tell us about their shop?   Green, a soothing color, elicits a close to nature response which is doubly emphasized by the plant life in the photo.  From the emotions evoked by the color green and the word associations, you would expect their work to be refreshing, natural but unique, yet traditionally rooted.   Their purple banner evokes a different response.   The color of purple used in their banner says sentimental, spiritual, genteel and nostalgic.   The two responses do go together and blend so that you would expect work that reflects their love of nature, traditional but refreshing with an emphasis on thier spiritual inclinations.   Take a look at this example, visit their store and see if you think the work reflects what you expect to find.

Goddess necklace

Dixie Dazzle Designs’ avatar features a favorite piece in light teal.   Teal is a combination of both blue and green and will evoke emotions from both colors but to a lesser degree.

Dixie Dazzle

These colors are from Pantone’s “Cool” palette and lead you to expect the new, clean and refreshing designs with a solid, dependable base.   Check out this necklace and take a stroll through her shop and let me know what you think.

Jasper and Turquoise Necklace

Last, but by no means least, we come to the shop of Midnight Whispers.   Her name by itself implies mystery, drama and secrets that only a select few will share.   Her avatar uses colors from the palette that Pantone calls “Elegant”:   a deep, almost black purple, gunmetal gray and hints of deep navy.

Midnight Whispers

The responses this palette evokes are elegance and opulance.  You would expect very distinctive and classy jewelry.   Here is a necklace that I think truly lives up to these expectations.

Bohemian Necklace

Well, I TOLD you this was going to be a long blog.  I do hope it has given you some things to thnk about.   I have lots more to share so I’ll be doing Part Two of Colors Talk in November.   In Part Three, I’ll take a look at my own avatar and banner and ask you some opinions.   From what I’ve learned so far, I am not satisfied with what I am using.   I’d like some honest feedback before I make any changes.  I value your opinions.    Maybe you’ll be looking at your own avatars and banners too.   I also hope you have had a bit of fun with this.   Maybe you will check out this book for yourself.  Let me know.

October 19, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Nice blog …fun to read and see the color with the jewels :O)

    Like

    Comment by Elaine | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’m glad it was fun Elaine. I worried it was too long and the reader would not want to do the whole thing.

    Like

    Comment by stregajewellry | October 19, 2011 | Reply

  3. Fantastic topic! The entry isn’t too long at all – it’s quite interesting! Will be looking forward to November’s continuation. 🙂

    Like

    Comment by Mary at PrettyGonzo | October 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Mary, I was afraid I “got to ramblin’ “, a habit of mine. Glad you found it interesting. I”m hoping guild sisters will follow along all three parts and give me some opinions when I work on my own banner and avatar.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | October 24, 2011 | Reply

  4. This is so fascinating. Thanks for taking the time to put this together.

    Like

    Comment by Ginger (personaloasis) | October 27, 2011 | Reply

    • Ginger, I have to confess, it got me energized to make changes for myself. I know we all struggled at first to figure out just what we wanted to put up as avatar or banner. We want to personalize it but just how, we are not sure. The colors/emotions thing has always fascinated me and what a great way to put it to practical use! I’m sure there are newer Artfire members out there that are going through the same struggles to know what theme to use, what avatar and what banner. I hope it is helpful to some people. Thanks for the compliment. I am inspired to keep on going.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | October 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

