Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Macro Cleanup


It’ macro Sunday again and I’m not sure if my photos truly qualify but I am posting them anyhow.

My next door neighbor, who never cuts her brush, has a wild grapevine that is well over 12 inches diameter at the base.   It comes over my fence every year and has killed my beautiful plum tree and is well on the way to killing my ornamental cherry tree.   SIGH.

Two weeks ago, my son came over and cut grapevine and tree limbs (we are still nowhere near done) and I have a pile of brush to burn.

macro brushpile

I also have a bunch of tree limbs that need to  be broken up so I could burn them.  I did that this morning.

macro sticks

Then, comes son #2 with three boys whom I am supposed to entertain while he plays his online game.   So I put two boys to feed the fire while I cut more brush and pulled down more grapevine.   They were a huge help.

boys feeding the fire

Oh, and part of their job is to keep Sadie from stealing sticks out of the firepit and setting the lawn on fire!

Meanwhile, the Supervisor’s job is to sit on a blanket, pull up grass, dig in the dirt and chew on dry leaves while we all work. He did a great job supervising.

Supervisor Nikolai

We had a great bonfire.   This is not a macro pic but is as close to the fire as I could get without setting either my hair or the camera on fire.

not a macro fire

So, with aching back, I am off to soak in the tub.    If you enjoyed this macro Sunday, follow the link to a page of many macro Sunday posts hosted by Waterstone Jewelry.

studio waterstone

August 28, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your trees, but you got some nice shots for today…love the fire and what a little cutie too

    Like

    Comment by Tamara | August 29, 2011 | Reply

  2. Oh, yes, the Supervisor is a cutie pie. And such a good baby. He was outside for over 4 hours! He will sleep great tonight! BUT, his mom will have to give him a bath! LOL…..he played in the dirt a lot!

    Like

    Comment by stregajewellry | August 29, 2011 | Reply

  3. If I only live close by you I will come and snip and snap that vine. I’d tell you my husband don’t want me to hold the cutter I snip almost everything I see that needs snipping. Sometimes none is left hahahaha. Like your photos thanks for sharing and the visit too.

    Like

    Comment by Kim, USA | August 29, 2011 | Reply

    • LOL, Kim, I need you to move nearer to me. I’m going to have my son go over there with the chain saw. I talked to the man next door today and asked if it was all right with him. He has NONE on his side and that is where it starts! It all comes over the fence to my side! We found 3 places to cut off and hopefully that will kill it. Good Lord, it is a mess!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | August 30, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

