Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Torchd Beads


I want to share another little shop I have found on Artfire.  Angela Bohannon has some simply gorgeous beads in her shop.  

I must admit, I haven’t used many lampwork beads before.   I have been looking at other people’s work and decided I wanted to try some.   A good friend had asked me to make a custom order for her.   Knowing Dee, I knew I needed purple or bluish purple to make her happiest.   So, I did an Artfire search for purple lampwork beads.    These beads came up in the search and I fell in love with the colors. 

Angela's "purple haze" beads

 
 
 
 
This delicious mix of deep purple and blue just made me feel good!   So, I took a look around at some of her other work.   Than, I fell in love with this bead.  
 

gorgeous focal bead

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I really didn’t have any project in mind so I debated for a while, but ordered it anyhow.       When I received the beads in the mail, and paired the purple haze with some large hole beads I had been planning to use, I found that this focal bead was perfect, just perfect to make the bracelet really standout.   Lucky I ordered it!  LOL
 
Here are some photos of Dee’s custom leather wrap bracelet.   Strung on leather cord, the bracelet wraps 3 times around your wrist.   And Dee has a one of a kind, never to be duplicated bracelet that she loves.
 

Dee's custom leather wrap bracelet

 
 

focal bead in place

 
 
 

how it wraps, shown from the side

 
 
 
 
 
 
And, as an added bonus, I had 2 purple haze beads left over so I made a fantastic pair of lampwork earrings.  
 

purple haze lampwork earrings

 
 
 
 
 
I want to show you some of my favorites from Angela’s shop.   If I had more money, I would have ordered lots of things.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I love the rich colors in these beads.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Isn’t this an awesome focal bead?   Anyone who loves that movie Titanic couldn’t help but fall in love with this bead!!!
 
 
And last, but not least, these froggy beads!   I love frogs and toads and just wish I had these for a Toad You So necklace!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
If you want to see more of her beautiful  beads, check out Torchd Beads on Artfire!   Say hello to Angela and tell her Strega sent you!
August 9, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Be careful – using lampwork beads in designs can be addictive!!! Beautiful creations with the lampies. Thanks for adding another lampwork artist to my growing list!

    Like

    Comment by Catherine | August 9, 2011 | Reply

  2. She does good work ,I love the color and design …Thank you for sharing :O)

    Like

    Comment by Elaine | August 9, 2011 | Reply

  3. Addiction! Yes, ladies, I now have another. Thanks to the two of you, I have been exploring different shops to find unusual beads. You inspired me….or should I say you “contributed to my delinquency”. ?

    Like

    Comment by stregajewellry | August 9, 2011 | Reply

  4. I’m off to go check out her shop! May I recommend Beads and Botanicals, too–also on ArtFire! They make gorgeous lampwork beads!

    Like

    Comment by Linda Landig | August 21, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

