Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

macro green


Time for another macro Sunday.   So hot this week, I didn’t get out much.  This little guy has taken up residence on my front porch.  He loves this plant.  He sure was a friendly little fella!   He kept jumping up on the camera lens and climbing onto my arm. 

now you see me, now you don't

 
 

Oh, Lord, some rain would be really nice!

 
 
 

studio waterstone

July 31, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Nicely captured.

    Like

    Comment by Nadege | July 31, 2011 | Reply

  2. I hope all our pyaying mantis’ are praying for rain here too because we sure could use it! Love the shot of him, the ridges in his back I never really noticed before

    Like

    Comment by Laura Twiford | July 31, 2011 | Reply

  3. I am glad you said something because I almost missed that little guy! I love the greens and yellows and I hear you about needing the rain!

    Like

    Comment by Beth | July 31, 2011 | Reply

  4. Love the Praying Mantis picture. It’s been horribly hot here too and I can’t remember when we last had rain. Hopefully relief will come for both of us soon. Have a great week!

    Like

    Comment by Kym Hunter | July 31, 2011 | Reply

  5. That’s a fun visitor to have. I hope you get rain soon!

    Like

    Comment by Annette | July 31, 2011 | Reply

  6. Walking stick or praying mantis? Either way, he’s very cool.

    Like

    Comment by Patty Lakinsmith | July 31, 2011 | Reply

  7. Love this little fella! I am not usually much of a bug fan, but hes cute! So nice of him to let you take a picture.

    Like

    Comment by Tracey Nanstad | July 31, 2011 | Reply

    • He was a real clown! I even have a picture of him ON the camera lens! You can’t really tell what it is, but I know it is him. He jumped just as I snapped!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | August 1, 2011 | Reply

  8. I haven’t seen one of these in years!!! I used to see them all the time when I was little – nice of him to pose for you!

    Like

    Comment by Patty | July 31, 2011 | Reply

  9. Wow! Really cool!

    Like

    Comment by Elisabeth | July 31, 2011 | Reply

  10. I’m pretty sure he’s a praying mantis.

    I love finds like this. My nieces are great at spotting neat bugs!
    Wonderful shots of him!

    Like

    Comment by CraftyHope | August 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, I was very very lucky that he was not a bit shy.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | August 1, 2011 | Reply

  11. I am so jealous!! All of my little friends are hiding from me. I know they are there…I have many larve pods. I actually had one crawl in the car one night and as I was going down the road looked over and saw my visitor. I stopped at the folks and relocated him!!

    Like

    Comment by kim | August 1, 2011 | Reply

    • This little guy made my day! I think he might have been looking for water, it’s been so dry here. Whatever he wanted, we enjoyed his company. They are such funny little creatures. I bet you had a good laugh when you found that fella in your car!

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | August 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

