Strega Jewellry's Blog

jewelry, beads, stone lore, music, kids and nature

Spiral Dance


I often find myself using one of the simplest technques in jewelry making over and over. I will always love spirals. I notice so many of my fellow artisans spiraling in their creations.  Spirals are one of the first techniques that wire workers learn.  In different ways they can enhance a variety of designs. 

Let’s talk about the meaning of this favorite symbol. It’s used in almost every culture and unlike many other symbols, no exclusive group has claimed the spiral for its own.

Primitive rock carvings have spiral designs. You can find it in Celtic art,

Native American petroglyphs,

 Nazca pottery,  African and Aboriginal Australian art. Arabs used it in architecture. It’s been used in Japanese rock gardens and in mazes.

Whirling dervishes danced in spirals. You see it today in corporate logos.

(note:  each of the links will take you to a blog I found with awesome photos and lots of info or to a video.  If you have time, take a look)

In nature, you can see it in ram’s horns, coiled snakes, tornadoes, vines, snails, seashells, whirlpools and we live in a spiral galaxy. The ammonite fossil is probably the most famous of spiral nature artifacts. In fact, it often symbolizes the universe in constant motion. It can represent the evolution of time, stars, planets and the way of natural progress.  Our universe is a spiral.

our spiral galaxy

Spirals mean different things to different folks.   What does it mean to you?

Evolution and holistic growth

Letting go, surrender, release

Awareness of the one within the context of the whole

    Connectivity and union with deific and cosmic energies

I read one article that suggested “that ancient Celtic artists used the spiral symbol as a mind-altering creative process in which the act of creating a spiral in their work released their minds into a creative splendor. Perhaps that’s why we see them dominate the Celtic world; out of a strong desire to step outside the physical and enter a gossamer domain where dreams and intuition take hold of awareness. ”

That made me want to spiral more and more. It was suggested that you should draw spirals, feeling the freedom that spiraling outward gives you and opening your mind to the creative process. I tried it. I liked it. I’m going to do it again. I found it envigorating and uplifting.

In terms of spirituality, the spiral symbol can represent the path leading from outer consciousness: or a focus on more material things and the ego or self to the inner focus or intuitive self.

I love using spirals.  These “magic spiral earrings” are one of my favorite things to make.

my magic spirals

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
My fellow guild artists are truly adept at enhancing their designs with spirals in many forms.   I’ve curated an Artfire collection that showcases their work.  Please check it out.  
 
 
 
Vintage Fashion
July 7, 2011 - Posted by | Jewelry, metaphysical, stone lore | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Fascinating post! Like you, I am drawn to spirals – they call me. Am also drawn to petroglyphs and always end up taking the most photos of, you guessed it, spirals! I once read that, depending on the way you “walk” the spiral, the meaning is different but is connected for our totallity. Moving from outward to inward on the spiral leads to the conenction of the inner soul. Beginning inward and spiraling outward signals the growth of consciousness and connectedness with Mother Nature. Love that interpretation 🙂 Thank you for sharing this on the JCUiN forums, which is where I stumbled on your link.

    Like

    Comment by Catherine | July 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for taking the time to read this post. I have seen this interpretation you speak of and I also like it. I have a Celtic tune that seems to urge me to spiral dance. I find myself, according to the mood, or to my current life situation, either dancing the spiral out or in. It’s interesting to me. Automatically, my spirit seems to seek the way.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | July 9, 2011 | Reply

  2. Love your blog post and collection. I’m attracted to spirals because I feel connected to other cultures and to history through them, and connected to nature as well as the cosmos. Spirals are dynamic and to me express the basic mystery of time and being: they have a “rightness” to them and seem to affirm the mystery of which we are all a part. If shapes could speak, I think spirals would speak in the language of creation but whisper in the language of the eternal, of no real beginning or end. So those are some of my thoughts re what spirals mean to me. I also want to mention that spirals are also common in Neolithic art, such as that found on the stones of the Newgrange passage graves in Ireland (which, at 5000 years old, predate the Celts). 🙂 Thanks for this blog and the collection!

    Like

    Comment by PrettyGonzo | July 9, 2011 | Reply

    • Now you have sent me on a quest: to look for these stones. I actually found more cultural examples. but, after putting in the links I did, I feared having such a long blog that no one would want to read it, or that they would get lost in the links. LOL. I agree that they seem to touch all of us in some primitive spot, no matter who we are or what culture we come from. After I did this blog, I started to look at the way I “spiraled” when I worked and it got me wondering why sometimes, I want nice tight coils, even and perfect and other times, I want them to be loose and flowing, or squared and angled. Still thinking about that one.

      Like

      Comment by stregajewellry | July 9, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] The spiral is one of the  most often used symbol in our jewelry makers guild.   It is an ancient goddess symbol representing the womb, fertility, continual change and the evolution of the Universe.  To see a more in depth exploration of the meanings of spirals, check out The Spiral Dance.   […]

    Like

    Pingback by Amulets, Talismans and Symbols « Strega Jewellry's Blog | December 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

